We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to go for seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #22 of 899 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to go for seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Be sure to go during happy hour for a great deal on oysters! Great lobster roll, delicious drinks, and a great location. Walk off your dinner by heading down to the Battery! I am anxious to return to Pearlz in August!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMSeries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at Pearlz! It pleases us very much hearing that you loved our lobster rolls, drinks, and fresh oysters! Thank you so much for the feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    491
    94
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Popular spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good standard food, a GREAT oyster bar. However, if you're not a fan of oysters, you're not really missing anything by not going here. Excellent manager, very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz! We are very pleased to know that your enjoyed our fresh oysters and our friendly staff! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place for oysters and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wife and I got oysters here twice. Both times, the service was great - we sat at the bar. It was packed at 3pm on a Friday and again same time on a Saturday so that says a lot right there.

Beer selection was really good and the service was good as well. We only got the raw oysters, and while those are pretty hard to screw up, they were fresh and well served. The orders came quick and the service hustles in there.

All in all, this place is great - not a 5 star dining type of place, but pretty much every walk of life fits in here so it has a great, open ended atmosphere. We will definitely go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manu4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We had the crispy Shrimp app, grouper tacos, ahi tuna burger and seafood chef salad - all we're wonderful. Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLAURIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are happy you had such a great experience with us. The crispy shrimp appetizer, grouper tacos, ahi tuna burger and seafood chef salad are great options. Please come back again soon and try something new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“They will make you happy :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

got into town somewhat late,we arrived and they took our name, they called us shortly afterwards for a seat out side. I ordered the lobster roll,nothing but absolute lobster and they bring the bread in from up north, it's to die for, all lobster, buttery toasted bread YUM. My husband ordered the stone crab claws, was disappointed and the server was more than happy to change his order. He wanted the lobster roll. Lorin took excellent care of us. We'll be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AugustaOnTheGo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing