We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now on my list for Charleston eats!”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #44 of 967 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Oysters were great, staff was well trained and provided great service! Host did a great job of managing a packed restaurant. I'll return!

Thank Ge0rgiaM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,542 - 1,546 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Traveling alone is not always fun, especially at dinner time, but Pearlz made dinner a comfortable experience. I had been traveling most of the day and was hungry by 4:30. People were in the restaurant and at the bar, so I sat at the bar and enjoyed a fantastic cup of soup and wonderful tuna slider. The staff was warm and attentive even as the room became packed with guests. It was so great that I may go there again since I am in town for 3 more days!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamiekstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz on East Bay in Charleston. We look forward to having you back while you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Best oysters I have had in a while! Great atmosphere and great service, would definitely recommend this to everyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you! We look forward to having you back again to Pearlz on East Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ate at the bar after a couple of recommendations from people in the touristy area around Meeting Street and the markets. The grilled tuna was just okay, not as fresh as it should have been. Oysters, too, were okay, but smaller in size. Service was adequate, not friendly, and not, like many other restaurants in Charleston, with staff truly seeming to want you to enjoy your dining experience. Wine pours were not generous and the tab was higher than it would be in a more quality restaurant.

Thank 594traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for visiting us at Pearlz Oyster bar in Charleston. We appreciate the time you took to provide us feedback on your experience. We were glad you decided to dine with us following a couple local recommendations. It was very upsetting to hear your comments regarding our hospitality and food preparation. Our standard at Pearlz is always focused on exceeding the expectations of our guests in our approach to both service and food quality. With your comments in mind, however, it seems these standards were not upheld during your recent experience. We do truly want you to enjoy your dining experience and we apologize that we did not provide you with an overall experience that proves this. We take the comments from our guests very seriously and we will be using your feedback in order to improve upon our standards and approach. We hope you will be willing to give us another opportunity, in order to prove the true standards by which we operate. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Gone to Pearlz a couple times and sat at the bar with friends. The service was great, staff was friendly, and the oysters were oh oh so good. Really recommend this for some very good sea food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jsander722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz on East Bay. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing