We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Place for Oysters and Cocktails” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #22 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fun Place for Oysters and Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I wanted to experience a few different restaurants while in Charleston so we had appetizers and cocktails at a couple different places. Because we love oysters, we had to try Pearlz and we weren't disappointed. We had a couple dozen fresh oysters and cocktails. The bar staff was busy but attentive and friendly. This is a casual place to sit at the bar and enjoy some good seafood.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhJackieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for stopping by to enjoy some oysters and cocktails. We hope to have you back again the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,125
    484
    93
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Turk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“seafood and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

great bar atmosphere, fabulous food, and attentive service. try the red rice with any of the seafoods.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More than oysters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Go here regularly for the fried oysters but also there is a salad with all kinds of seafood in it(can't remember the name) that is awesome and a crab item that is stacked high like a soup can...it is also is awesome and always ordered by my husband!! Great happy hour and a meal of appetizers is very satisfying!! Bring company here always and sit outside for a great afternoon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pearlz! We are so glad that you and your husband visit often and enjoy a lot of different things on our menu. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Bar service was outstanding, and the oysters were divine. It was full from the moment we arrived till the moment we left, and the servers never missed a beat

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jsander722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much! We hope to have you back again soon for some oysters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious as before!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband couldn't wait to get to Pearlz since he is an oyster fanatic! I don't eat oysters, so I had the steamed shrimp. They were the best I had in Charleston. I also ordered corn fritters. Wow! what a delicious treat! A huge quantity for a couple of bucks and I shared them with my husband. They were just perfect!

The surprise was the two twenty-somethings sitting next to us that ordered hamburgers. Why would one order hamburgers at an Oyster Bar? Well, these turned out to be the juiciest, mos gorgeous hamburgers that ever came out of a kitchen. We were shocked and amused, so there must be a chef back there with many talents.

I wanted to copy the oyster wreath over the bar and they kindly told me how it was made. Everyone serving was just delightful. In fact, the wait staff at SNOB told us that they come over to Pearlz after they close and for happy hour. They know what is good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GAtravelerNewnan_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing