We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding atmosphere”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #27 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outstanding atmosphere”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Enjoyed dinner here by myself enroute to a business conference. It, along with a bunch of other restaurants are located in restaurant district where it might be easy to overlook Pearlz. Don't make that mistake. When I was there, it was hopping dinner crowd time, with live music. Sitting where I could people watch the street, attentive service and excellent food made a wonderful visit. The oyster poorboys and oyster rockefeller were awesome (see a trend here?) and not overcooked. Everything was fresh and well plated. Prices were reasonable for fresh seafood, which I expected--- and wasn't disappointed. I can easily recommend Pearlz to those wanting good food in an enjoyable environment at a reasonable cost. Sitting at the window I caught more cigarette smoke than I wanted; so if this bothers you sit further back in the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Everett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for visiting Pearlz in Columbia! We hope that when you are in town again you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    507
    97
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another helpful choice from Trip Advisor”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had two meals in Charleston and chose Pearlz for one of them. After touring the city, we decided to eat early. It's a good thing we did since it was Saturday. We were able to get one of the last tables available at 4:30 p.m. We ordered several different things off of the menu and were pleased with everything. It was all delicious! Our waitress was attentive and the atmosphere was fun.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christyristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for visiting Pearlz in Downtown Charleston. We are glad that you choose us as one of the two places to eat in Charleston. Next time you are in town we hope to have you back. Thank you for visiting Pearlz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious seafood, great prices.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Go during happy hour and you can eat good for cheap. Great oysters, peel and eat shrimp, lobster roll and delicious wedge salad. The atmosphere is casual and its smoke free! Yay! You will love it, I guarantee!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFoodCritic505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a casual fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

You can't go wrong with the food in this place! You would never guess the delicious delights that await you as you peek in at this feisty little bar. We had a ball watching football at the bar before dinner and then 4 of us had scrumptious dinners. The waitress made recommendations at our request and she was spot on. They even had wasabi mashed potatoes, yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT fried oysters!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I sat at the bar and had great service. Food was wonderful - light batter on the oysters and hush puppies!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing