We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A year since our last visit - won't wait that long again!”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #30 of 936 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Once again - two meals in as many days and outstanding as before. Can't get better tasting or priced raw oysters on the half shell, bar tenders are instant friends, the seafood salad has no competition - ANYWHERE! Chilled mussels, lobster, crab, shrimp, white beans, and a champagne/country moustard vinaigrette that I hope to be able to replicate at home. Greatest atmosphere of any bar around, happy hour menu is worth a 9 hour drive, staff is the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kyfarmgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you so much for visiting Pearlz on East Bay again. We agree a year is way too long. We hope to have you back again sooner then that next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,513 - 1,517 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We sat at a communal table. No wait. Everyone's food was outstanding. I passed on the Oysters Rockefeller because it is often not so good. Bad choice. My companions at the other end of the table had them and said that they were amazing. The mussels were delicious. The broth was great and the mussels themselves were plump and tasty. Enough to share. A fun evening.

Thank Chicago Carolin... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for visiting Pearlz. We hope to have you back for some oysters soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ordered from happy hour menu....fish tacos, homemade chips with blue cheese. Also ordered from regular menu Pearlz burger and wedge salad. You will not be disappointed. Beer is made by Liberty Steakhouse a sister restaurant. Told wait was 40 minutes but found a seat at bar in less than 5. And then were told they had a table for us. The bar was actually a great place to sit and talk with oyster shockers and other diners. Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for visiting Pearlz on East Bay. We are so glad that your wait wasn't long at all and you were able to find a seat at the bar! Hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our friend, a local, took us to the restaurant as it is supposed to be one of the best ones for seafood in Charleston. I have been here once before and could not complain. However this time I was disappointed. One of our party has ordered a Mahi-Mahi. When it arrived it was completely flat, insipid. I do not know whether it was over cooked or not, or what the issue was, but it just tasted like nothing. Given the price and the high expectations it was an absolute let-down.

My food (a lobster roll) was okay, but not revolutionary.

Furthermore the service was pretty slow that night, our cards lay there for about 15min until the waitress picked them up and we could finally pay.

It seems to be a popular bar, so they must do something right, or have better days. Though next time I'll chose a different restaurant.

Thank idiomatic_german
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for dining with us at Pearlz in Charleston. It is always great to hear when a local resident recommends us. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback on your experience as well. At Pearlz, we pride ourselves on sourcing only the most pristine and high-quality seafood products on the market. We feature those products through prompt and courteous hospitality, and a high level of attention to detail. That being said, there is no excuse for the lack of flavor or quality in your Mahi Mahi, or your Lobster Roll being anything less then amazing. With your feedback, however, we will be addressing these concerns immediately, and working to assure that standards of quality and excellence that we set, are attained in all future experiences. We can only hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you and prove to you the true culinary and hospitality standards for which we are known. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place is way overcrowded during happy hour, so get there early or wait until it is over. The shrimp were the largest and tastiest I was able to find in Charleston. They have a nice oyster selection, but they are by no means cheap. I wasn't wild about their craft beer on tap, but the next person may love it.

Thank mudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for visiting Pearlz in Charleston. We were glad to hear how much you enjoyed our shrimp and the vast specialty oyster selection. We greatly appreciate your feedback. Similar to the high quality of our shrimp and the immense selection of oysters, our draught craft beer selection is something we also pride ourselves in. Unfortunately, that pride that was not well displayed in your experience. Our Pearlz location is proud to feature draught beer from our own microbrewery, New South Brewery. As one of the first micro-breweries in South Carolina, New South provides us with a variety of delicious and flavorful beers for our guests to chose from. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, and I would encourage you to ask for a sample of each beer on draught. Our bartenders are very knowledgeable and would love to provide you a personalized tasting until you find one that works for you. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing