We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Charleston
from $29.68
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $28.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
17
17
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
17
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shady park nice park plaques benches trees broad monument courthouse history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 37 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2018

Almost on any walking or carriage tour you will come across this nice little green patch on Meeting and Broad Streets which is the French Quarter. In 1881 the spot was named in Honor of George Washington who visited Charleston in May 1791 on a tour to honor the South who fought to free our new nation from control from abroad. There are several monuments...nice benches to sit...shady oak trees...and quiet. It is very nice to see our "Father of our Country"...honored here.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

You are going to walk, walk, walk the sidewalks of Charleston. This is a place to rest in the shade on comfortable benches. While you are there you can learn how Washington is associated with Charleston's history.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Bob19512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

While we were waiting for our brunch reservation we relaxed in Washington Park among the azaleas, shade trees and monuments. Very relaxing on a sunny Sunday morning in Charleston.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Drgole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

This is a hidden peaceful spot. There are numerous statues around the park with George Washington since that is who the square is named after. There are benches and lots of spaces for picnicing or enjoying a lunch. The area is behind City Hall and is full of birds and wildlife. This is a great place to sit and relax.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank terriej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

This is a small park on the other side of st Micheal's church , it has a statue of George Washington , couple of memorials and lots of trees,

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank purnesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews