We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot to have a craft beer or coffee”

Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer
Ranked #5 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice spot to have a craft beer or coffee”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Found this place on a walkabout around town. Stay at the Francis Marion. Very nice staff and a great courtyard. The cask beer was soooo yummy! The beer is close to $6 a pint but a nice place to stop and chill out for a beer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    56
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The place that saw us the most is Kudu, a nice little spot to kick back with coffee or craft beer. Being within close proximity of the College of Charleston, it's difficult to miss the students and lecturers winding up or winding down over a cup of the fair trade Counter Culture coffee from North Carolina. And these guys really know how to make it well.

Food options are limited, but the couple of breakfast items we tried did the trick. Bacon, cheddar & jalapeño quiche (3.5) and a cinnamon raisin bagel (2.75).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasilof, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really Dude? Get a Clue”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Alaskans take their coffee drinks seriously ! IDK about you but I expected The guy at the register up at least know how many shots are in the lattes! He stated 2 in all sizes / I said Really???? Then he backpedalled and asked to find out 2 - 3 - 4 depending on size ! Parking was ridiculous - the WiFi was not working so after paying for parking I'm stuck looking stuff up on my phone - upside they can make an almond milk latte without burning it the courtyard is nice quiet.

Helpful?
Thank Spacemtndog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
697 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“funky and fun place”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

we went twice. It was on our list from the get-go. Near College of Charleston. The usual funky clientele engrossed in their iPads, Mac's, or a group of students listening to a professor pontificate on something...
Coffee was very good. We went back 2 days later for craft beers. Very good but small selection. Good selection of food out of a deli case. worth a visit, worth a return visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee, Friendly Staff, Cool Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have had coffee all over the country, and I have to say that this place ranks towards the top. Their espresso is excellent. The menu is varied. And the prices are normal coffee-shop prices. But the atmosphere was incredible. We went on a perfect 75 degree day in February, and the doors were open allowing the amazing weather inside. Their outdoor seating is perfect, a lovely courtyard with lots of tables. And the staff was so nice to us; they genuinely welcomed us to Charleston.
If you love coffee and are in Charleston, you must go here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing