We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool cafe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer

Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer
Ranked #5 of 33 Coffee & Tea in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Chicago
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very cool cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The cafe was very cool! They had great seatings, great coffee, and delicious desserts. Highly recommend it for an afternoon snack and coffee!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ap123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    52
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We are so glad that we found this little gem tucked away on a side street. It had a neat vibe and a great place to see the flavor of the locals. I had an amazing cappuccino with a beautiful leaf design handcrafted by George and my husband enjoyed a local craft beer. We will definitely return!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3sojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“tucked away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

a few paces off frenetic King Street and you're in a quiet leafy courtyard enjoying some of the best coffee in the area. Inside is friendly and warm.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4masei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Coffee downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Kudu has changed hands a couple of times. It seems to been now in the right hands. There seems to be a place that you can find a seat usually even in the busiest of times. Ever since they turned the wifi off, no more college kids camping out all day on a cheap cup of joe. Lisa and I visit there often, picking up a panini or quiche from Normandy Farms. The place is now filled with proper business people and other locals. Great beer flights and wine too. Live music on the weekend I think. Great place to hit after going to the Saturday Farmers Market. Very Close!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodsnobguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great cup of coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

In a world of franchises and standard offerings, Kudu managed to serve me a dup of coffee that was exceptional. Yeah, it sounds simple, but it's appreciated. The beans for my cup, I was told, were sourced from some folks in NC. The effort was appreciated, because the coffee was unusually good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uncleBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kudu Coffee & Craft Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing