We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip...”

Santi's Restaurante Mexicano
Ranked #327 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trip...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have to credit other reviewers, as this is not a place I would have otherwise considered. The location is a bit unexpected, but the food is terrific. The outdoor patio has a great atmosphere (not sure I'd want to sit inside... it looked a bit like a converted fast food restaurant).
Their chips are fried flour tortilla, as opposed to the more commonly served corn chips, which I thought were excellent (as was the salsa). We got a pitcher of margaritas, which were definitely worth the money. Good flavor and a healthy pour. Carnitas were great. Two teen boys in our party had burritos, and couldn't finish them they were so large. Will definitely be back. I was just visiting Charleston, but this seems like the type of place that would have a strong local following.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robbikg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    46
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Santi's”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Santi's was great, loved the shrimp cocktails, tacos was great. It was packed on Monday night , so the service was slow, but I WILL BE BACK ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Mexican (for SC)”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We visited both locations of this restaurant. One in Sullivan's Island and the one in Charleston. The margaritas are potent and VERY tasty, not too sour, not too sweet. Chips and salsa ok, chips a little greasy. We sat outside at the Charleston location, got some no-see-ums or something tiny biting us a few times. Portions are alittle small.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank space_eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty food- not just chilli. Good service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a party of 6 adults and 4 children; great service, very tasty food, attentive staff. It's a little treasure of a restaurant in a commercial district. Somewhat hard to find. The bathroom facilities could use some attention or I would have rated this place "excellent."

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolL986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“First visit, but not the last”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Took us 7 years to get here and once we ate there we were hooked. The tacos are a perfect small mea, the chips and salsa were devoured and a fresh margarita hit the spot. I had Mothers soup which was so good! Off the beaten track, but worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseylovedGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santi's Restaurante Mexicano also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Santi's Restaurante Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing