We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Smoky Wings and BBQ”
Review of Home Team BBQ

Home Team BBQ
Ranked #94 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Truly Smoky Wings and BBQ”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Referred to Home Team by friends that live in the area. It is not in the downtown area but a short drive. Fun area to explore. It was a Saturday night so you waited for a table but it was well worth it. It is definitely a hang out for locals and therefor quite busy and noisy.

The smoked chicken wings were the best I have ever eaten. They were served with a white sauce which tasted a bit like honey mustard but milder. It was delicious. I usually don't order wings as they are so messy but this was worth the mess. Several in our group had the smoked barbeque which was also delicious and came with the typical beans and slaw for sides offered with several sauces.

The service was good and we had no issues with our orders even with the large crowd.

Very casual atmosphere--almost beachy atmosphere.

Make this one of your fun spots in the Charleston area...Definitely, try the wings!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    100
    43
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch on way to Magnolia Plantation”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had heard about this on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. We saw it on our way out to Magnolia Plantation on the Asley River Road (on left). Kind of hard to get into and out of becasue of the location adjacent to the highway; however, it is well worth the stop. Their lunch special was a barbeque pork sandwich with a side and a drink. We chose their award winning mac & cheese for our side. The entire meal was fantastic. The BBQ sauces are terrific and you have a choice of several different styles for the sandwich. There was nothing left on our plates.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TKM32250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Pricey, but solid bbq!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was as good as other reviewers said! Briskey and mac & cheese were a must. Draft beer was $5.50, so that's where they might getcha!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanDean666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Chicken Wings”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great BBQ place with the best chicken wings you will find. They are smoked with a delicious spice rub. They come with a variety of sauces, but if you like them spicy try the death relish! Yum! The ribs are tender and falling off the bone and the pulled pork is also excellent. Be warned - the platter servings are huge! I didn't try the nachos but they also looked amazing. Definitely worth a trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Found this on Tripadvisor, so had to try. Really cool outdoor patio. BBQ was good. Have to try Gamechanger drink is a must try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sirch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Team BBQ also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Home Team BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing