We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hidden gem in Charleston”
Review of Cannonboro Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cannonboro Inn
Ranked #12 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Best hidden gem in Charleston”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staff is terrific. The decorations are top notch, with a historical touch. Very vibrant colors that stir memories of your stay there. The breakfast was excellent. Home made French toast, pineapples, and sausage. I even had great interaction with the other guests while I stayed there.
If you're staying in Charleston, especially for a romantic getaway, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    91
    34
    21
    17
See reviews for
44
256
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Recently returned from a 3-night stay at the Cannonboro as part of our mini-honeymoon road trip. We'd stayed at Ashley Inn before, so we figured it'd be similar. We loved it! Our room (#2) was spacious, convenient and adorable. Bathroom is quite small, but that didn't bother us. Neither did the location across the street from MUSC Medical Center. It's a bit of a walk to downtown, but we prefer it that way. (Great way to walk off all the amazing food we consumed while in Charleston.) Breakfast was delicious each day and we enjoyed the wine, snacks and conversation during happy hour. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was visiting Charleston for my first time, and spend two nights at the Guest House of the Cannonboro Inn. It was PERFECT for me! I had the entire first floor to myself (only one bedroom downstairs), my own thermostat, the kitchen was 5 steps away for making coffee in the morning, and the bathroom was huge! The wifi worked great. I had a breakfast 'basket' each morning -- yogurt and juice and a muffin or a croissant! The location was wonderful, and made it easy to get to everything!

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms upstairs, but I might try one of those next time..... The lower room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sesmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great place, people, good location, good good. Enjoyed our stay…. They recommended things to see and places to eat-all yummy. We had a pickup so parking was a little bit of an issue but they supplied us with a parking pass in a lot a few doors down. No Problem

Room Tip: A few good restaurants just a few blocks down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The Inn was a treat with wonderful rooms in a great location. The Innkeeper's welcome was warm and thorough, the food excellent and service likewise. The owner was there at breakfast several mornings of our week's stay with much information on the property, neighbourhood, city and surrounding area. Cannot say enough about it and would recommend it, especially if you like walking...it takes about 20-25 minutes to walk to the market, but parking is good if you prefer to drive. I great introduction to Charleston! Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SP666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just got back from trip that included Charleston. Our overnight stay at Cannonboro Inn was terrific. The special touches, like wine glasses in the room, wine happy hour and fantastic breakfast made the stay a special treat. Also Barry's attendance at b'fast with his in-depth knowledge of Charleston history was happy surprise. We will definitely return!

Bob and Sandra Reed

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be equally good. We loved the one we stayed in with access to the balcony b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addieSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Cannoboro is a lovely B&B within easy walking distance to historic Charleston. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The delicious breakfasts served on the piazza were great. And it was so nice to come back after a busy day of sight seeing to enjoy a glass of wine & snack back on the piazza. Barry, the inn owner, has an amazing amount of knowledge of the history of the city. Our only complaint is that our bed tended to sag in the middle, although by the end of the day we were too tired not to sleep well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,902 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#3 of 61 in Charleston
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannonboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannonboro Inn

Property: Cannonboro Inn
Address: 184 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannonboro Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous historic inn (c. 1853) Located in the residential historic area of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cannonboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannonboro Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing