We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
  
Recommended experiences in and around Charleston
from $72.00
More Info
from $28.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $29.68
More Info
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveler rating
698
173
46
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
698
173
46
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour sea island charleston county guide paul cotton gin gin house big house the main house slave cabins gullah geechee civil war james island enslaved africans their lives eye opening american history live oaks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 942 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2019

I can't remember our guide's name but he was very knowledgeable. It was a very sad time in American history, but the story he told brought it full circle. (not wanting to give it away)

Date of experience: June 2019
4  Thank OnAir148227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

I am so so grateful for this tour, and particularly for our tour guide, Paul, who was a gifted and passionate storyteller, willing to challenge the audience and encourage us to look at the hard truths of our history. McLeod is doing unbelievably vital work in directly addressing our nation's history of trauma and terrorism. This is the way all sites of this nature should share their past, if we in the U.S. want to have a chance of moving towards racial justice. Thank you, Paul, and keep fighting the good fight!

Date of experience: July 2019
10  Thank hfenlon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Our tour guide was very imformative on the history of McLeod Plantation from the view of the owner's and the slave's perspectives. Learned about the Gullah culture which was very family/community oriented. Would recommend a visit if you are in the Charleston area.

Date of experience: July 2019
8  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

Quick but informative tour. Tour guide was excellent. Shop had affordable gifts. Parking was no problem.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank lindley621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

Very informative and fun place to visit. I would recommend visiting while in charleston. This place can easily take all day to see everything they have

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank ramisees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews