We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time”

St. Philip's Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston's Alleys and Hidden Passages
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph Manigault House Visit
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Historic Downtown Walking Tour
Ranked #68 of 240 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
421 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

What a great church but unfortunately it was closed to visitors. The main gate was open so we did get to see the quaint graveyards. If you cross the street there is another area of graveyards. Very interesting place to go to and look at the grave stones dating back to the 1700's. Quite fascinating. Worth a stroll.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
898 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Delightful Volunteer”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was the first church of many that we visited and we were warmly greeted by a delightful volunteer. She was cheerful and full of stories and information to share. The church is beautiful and has such history. It has been maintained immaculately. A must on your list of churches to visit along with the old cemetery beside it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Church and Tea!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

St Philips is a very nice church, very friendly greeters. The day we went they were having a fund raiser and offering a luncheon. We were happy to help and we enjoyed our lunch very much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreshamClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds but couldn't get inside”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Sadly we weren't able to see the inside but the grounds were worth a trip to see. The historic grave yard is beautiful and the little building in the back made for great pix. We spent quite a bit of time here. There is a path that goes completely around the church.

Helpful?
Thank MJWnJRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Historic Graves at St. Philip's”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This attractive church had a rough start in 1670, with the replacement church burning down in 1835, but it has a serene interior and small picturesque graveyard. You can find the graves of John C. Calhoun, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence - Edward Rutledge and Charles Pinckney, among others.

The tall church spire has new bells - the old ones were converted into cannons during the Civil War! Take a few moments to stroll through the peaceful church and graveyard after a busier time in downtown Charleston.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoEurophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Philip's Church also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to St. Philip's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing