We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit”

St. Philip's Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Charleston's Alleys and Hidden Passages
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph Manigault House Visit
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Historic Downtown Walking Tour
Ranked #71 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Such a beautiful church and when its open you are welcome to go in and look around. We did not catch it open on this trip, but did visit the graveyard. The Rector came out and was so friendly and nice. He pointed out the graves he thought we should see. We never miss a visit to this church when we're in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Beautiful OLD Church”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

One of the "must see's" of our beautiful historical Charleston, SC. The architecture gives you goosebumps and really takes you back a couple of hundred years.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olcott, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

For a week each spring St. Phillips serves an outstanding lunch. It is local food prepared by parishioners. The okra soup was a great joy. The desserts are home made each day. The tables are such you most likely will be called upon to share the table. There was no way I was going to share my dessert!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice old graveyard”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very interesting old graveyard . I also attended a pleasant Easter service in the lovely church next to the graveyard.Very welcoming to strangers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of Charleston's Best Churches”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is my favorite church in Charleston. I take great pride in this church as being a native to the area. If you look carefully, you'll notice the church is slanting. It has a unique brown hue not found on too many other churches in the area. The grounds are "spooky" and eerie. The building itself oozes with history from the magnificent steeple to the huge entryway. I recommend taking a walk through the graveyard for those that are up to it. If I'm not mistaken, I believe one of South Carolina's own and a vice president to the United States, John C. Calhoun, is buried there if not somewhere nearby.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank melainacastengera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Philip's Church also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to St. Philip's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing