We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Room had a terrible, cloying odor. Nothing would clear the smell. Room was very small. Hard to move around with luggage, computer, etc. Breakfast was below average. Pool looked nice, but we didn't try it. There are many hotels in the area. Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aggada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

I am sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay with us. We always value guest feedback, be it positive or negative, as it is a valuable tool in maintaining quality accommodations. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable accommodations at a fair market price. Obviously, in this guest's case, we fell far short of our goal.
I have directed my operations team to inspect each room for an odor such as that described in this review. Once found, we will treat the room accordingly.
Our breakfast currently exceeds Best Western standards and features, waffles, fresh baked cinnamon buns, danish, juice, coffee, cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and fresh fruit.
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to post their comments so we can improve our operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

Pleased with accomodations. Lite breakfast fare. Most reasonable for area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

I would like to thank this guest for their comments as well as their patronage. We place a high premium on guest feedback as it allows us to improve our operations. I only wish this guest had given us more ffedback as we do take it very seriously.

Again, many thanks for the comments and for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Ask for the main building rooms. Those must be the ones shown in the on-line photos. We were in the back building. Had to get a 2nd room, they are way too small for 4. So the $$ spent for 2 rooms may have been better spent for a suite elsewhere. Location was good & lots of good choices for breakfast. I reserved though Book-It and felt we were placed in the least desirable room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to post their comments. We appreciate all guest feedback, as it assists us in our goal of constantly improving our operation.

I am sorry this guest felt they did not receive an excellant room. The rooms available to third party websites are our standard rooms. I wish this guest had asked, our upgraded rooms are available for only $10 more per night. As there are a limited number of these we do not make them available through the third party websites.

If this guest returns to Charleston, they should contact us directly so we can insure they receive the room type that best suits their needs.

Again, thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here 3 days in May. We were very pleased with rooms; good price, lots of space and nice and clean. Also had nice workout room, great pool and good variety for breakfast. The hotel was close to stores, restaurants, and downtown. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maylojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2010

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to post their review. We place a high premium upon guest comments as they allow us to constantly improve our operation.

It is always rewarding to hear that we have done a good job. I am sure my staff will be excited to read this review as well.

Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I wanted to get a hotel closer to downtown but this was the last stop on our 12 day road trip and needed a place a little more affordable. The hotel was nice enough. The breakfast was what you would expect. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2010

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, as it is a valuable tool we use to improve our operations. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent customer service; it seems, in this guests case, we came close to achieving our goal.

Again, thank you for your comments as well as your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

OK, so the hotels in the Historic District are REALLY expensive, and we wanted to save a buck, so we reserved a king room here. The place is nice enough for the money (with AAA or AARP discounts) -- it's an older building but the rooms are recently refreshed. It's not the Ritz, or even the Hampton Inn, but perfectly OK for a couple of nights. Staff is friendly, the pool is large and clean, the beds are firm and the shower has lot's of water pressure; there's a nice breakfast in the morning, and lot's of places to eat close by. Be sure to ask for a room in the back and away from the road noise.

But if you are in Charleston to visit the Historic District, you might want to reconsider your plan. It's only 4 miles to the Historic Disatrict but it takes more like 30 minutes to navigate - even with a good GPS. Parking downtown is a challenge - most of the lots are full and are expensive. We really hated driving around so long looking for a place to park and ending up a mile or so from where we wanted to be. The inconvenience and aggravation was not worth the cheaper room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThadZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their thoughts. We appreciate all guest feedback, be it positive or negative, as it assists us in maintaining quality accommodations. I am sorry this guest had such a hard time finding their way to downtown. We do have maps and directions available at the front desk and all of our clerks are adept at providing assistance in finding your way around. At worst, the visitor's center downtown is no more than 15 minutes away.
Again, thank you for your comments as well as your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

stayed at the hotel for four nights have no complaints at all ,good value, easy reach of downtown , k,mart across the road and fuel station ,plus i-hop ,easy to get to the plantations,nice pool ,lobby ,friendly staff .nice roomsand quiet in all a excellant place to stay would stay again ,and if i and my wife recomend it it as to be good believe me as we can be very fussy with hotels and motels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2010

I would like to thank this guest not only for their comments but for their patronage as well. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us to constantly strive for improvement in our operations. It is very nice to read that our efforts are having an impact.

Again, many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $83 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing