We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here 3 days in May. We were very pleased with rooms; good price, lots of space and nice and clean. Also had nice workout room, great pool and good variety for breakfast. The hotel was close to stores, restaurants, and downtown. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maylojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to post their review. We place a high premium upon guest comments as they allow us to constantly improve our operation.

It is always rewarding to hear that we have done a good job. I am sure my staff will be excited to read this review as well.

Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    361
    118
    62
    45
See reviews for
386
410
56
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I wanted to get a hotel closer to downtown but this was the last stop on our 12 day road trip and needed a place a little more affordable. The hotel was nice enough. The breakfast was what you would expect. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, as it is a valuable tool we use to improve our operations. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent customer service; it seems, in this guests case, we came close to achieving our goal.

Again, thank you for your comments as well as your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

OK, so the hotels in the Historic District are REALLY expensive, and we wanted to save a buck, so we reserved a king room here. The place is nice enough for the money (with AAA or AARP discounts) -- it's an older building but the rooms are recently refreshed. It's not the Ritz, or even the Hampton Inn, but perfectly OK for a couple of nights. Staff is friendly, the pool is large and clean, the beds are firm and the shower has lot's of water pressure; there's a nice breakfast in the morning, and lot's of places to eat close by. Be sure to ask for a room in the back and away from the road noise.

But if you are in Charleston to visit the Historic District, you might want to reconsider your plan. It's only 4 miles to the Historic Disatrict but it takes more like 30 minutes to navigate - even with a good GPS. Parking downtown is a challenge - most of the lots are full and are expensive. We really hated driving around so long looking for a place to park and ending up a mile or so from where we wanted to be. The inconvenience and aggravation was not worth the cheaper room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThadZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their thoughts. We appreciate all guest feedback, be it positive or negative, as it assists us in maintaining quality accommodations. I am sorry this guest had such a hard time finding their way to downtown. We do have maps and directions available at the front desk and all of our clerks are adept at providing assistance in finding your way around. At worst, the visitor's center downtown is no more than 15 minutes away.
Again, thank you for your comments as well as your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

stayed at the hotel for four nights have no complaints at all ,good value, easy reach of downtown , k,mart across the road and fuel station ,plus i-hop ,easy to get to the plantations,nice pool ,lobby ,friendly staff .nice roomsand quiet in all a excellant place to stay would stay again ,and if i and my wife recomend it it as to be good believe me as we can be very fussy with hotels and motels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
I would like to thank this guest not only for their comments but for their patronage as well. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us to constantly strive for improvement in our operations. It is very nice to read that our efforts are having an impact.

Again, many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

A family of five stayed at this hotel for one night. While the room wasn't as roomy as in other Best Westerns I've stayed at, I have no complaints. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and reasonably well appointed, the location was convenient. The breakfast selections were broad enough to make everyone happy and full, and the front staff happily supplied us with some toothbrushes after a packing oversight.

While not as inexpensive as some of the hotels in North Charleston, the location is far better than those, and the price is of course better than staying downtown. A good compromise.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvillegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to post their comments. We do consider our property as a lower priced alternative to staying in Downtown Charleston. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows to constantly pursue our goal of satisfying every guest.

Again, many thanks to this guest for their comments as well as their patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel is located 3 miles from central Charleston. It is nice not to be in the middle of the city,. and the hotel is one of the cleanest I've been to. The ONLY thing I would change is that the light switch which operates the bathroom also operates a light above the sink OUTSIDE the bathroom. So if you need the potty in the middle of the night, you may wake up others in the room when you turn on the light.

Other things you might want to know: the hotel is in a residential area, there are no inner hallways (you park right outside your room), there is free wifi, and free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imetmadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
I am very pleased to read that this guest enjoyed their stay with us. We value all guest feedback, be it positive or negative, as it allows us to constantly improve our operation.
We are planning to change the configuration of the light switches in our vanity area when we renovate in the future.
Many thanks for the comments as well as for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Nothing nice to say. Called about noisy fridge, broken toilet seat, clogged sink etc sink got fixed. Noisy place, no sign of management. Incident in room below us, went for a walk and watched security playing solitaire at the lobby (guests) internet computer. Mattress also shot, like a valley with all flowing to the center.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonniesBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
I am so sorry this guest had such a negative experience while visiting with us. We place a high value on guest comments as they allow us to constantly improve our efforts. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable accommodations at a fair market price. Obviously, in this guest's case, we fell far short of our goal.
It is my sincere wish that this guest will contact me personally so we can discuss their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#35 of 60 in Charleston
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing