We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Comfortable, Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the back building. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and what looked like a new air conditioner worked great. The staff is wonderful, from the desk right down to the gals providing the continental breakfast. We would stay there again.
(They were just shampooing out carpet when we arrived and although 2 stains remained it was nice knowing the rug was fresh & cleaned)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear D C,

I'm happy to see that you enjoyed every component of your stay with us. I was impressed that you described the staff interaction as wonderful and that you were pleased that we had the carpets freshly shampooed before your arrival. If you are ever in the Charleston area please come visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just what we want in a hotel when vacationing - convenient location, clean, quiet, nice pool. Bfast was so-so but not a big issue. Pool was great! Bessingers next door great for dinner. Would stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank MKEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear MKEQ,

Thanks so kindly for the lovely review. It's our pleasure to offer you convenience, the comforts of a clean and quiet room and our great pool. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Comfortable night's sleep. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was decent, but got very crowded. We would stay here again if we got the same deal on the price (used the special price available on the Best Western website).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank RoseL727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Rosel727,

Many thanks to you for taking the time to post this review. It was nice to see you found the staff very friendly. We are including plans in the near future to expand our area so all of our guests have the opportunity to enjoy our great breakfast. We would love the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Sweetgrass Inn was a good Value for the dollar - great feature of keeping car while on cruise and helpful staff. 10 people - we had 3 cars and the hotel had a port shuttle available. Well done! Would stay again for a cruise experience leaving from Charleston!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear John H,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and take advantage of our park and cruise package. We are pleased to offer any service that would make your cruise travel experience more enjoyable. It was wonderful to see that you were satisfied with every detail of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Sweetgrass Inn is located an US 17 just south of the Charleston peninsula, an easy 10 minute drive to downtown Charleston. While it is located on a busy highway, most of the rooms are wll back from the road, and it is very quiet. We stayed in the building farthest from the road, on the ground floor, and found our room to be clean and comfortable for our three-night stay. It was also well equipped with the basic amenities one comes to expect from a 2-3 star motel/hotel.
We did not use the pool or the fitness room, so I cannot comment, but we did partake of the breakfast offerings each day, which were above average. Service was excellent. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear NPSjunkiekev,

Thanks for posting the review. It was great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to offer a convenient location that offers easy access to all of the surrounding areas. I was also delighted that you found the breakfast selection to be above average. We are proud to offer excellent service to our wonderful guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was very clean, comfortable and located in a great area but the difference was with the staff. OUTSTANDING!! Best employees I have encountered in any business in a very long time. The hotel was very clean, the room was well decorated, the pool was great, the continental breakfast was very good, nice variety of food and was open for a substantial time, 7 to 10 am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Ann H,

Thanks for such an excellent review. The staff here really tries to provide our guests with the best service possible. It was so refreshing to see that you thought the staff was outstanding and the best that you have encountered in any business in a long time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

BW Sweetgrass Inn is a good value with a convenient location to most of Charleston's attractions. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The breakfast was clean and roomy with outside dinning if desired. This BW has a nice, large, clean swimming pool with a generous supply of swimming "Noodles" for guest to use. The only down side was a lack of outlets and slow WiFi in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Bill M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate the feedback. It is lovely that you had such a positive guest experience from the staff to the breakfast to the room condition to our large lovely pool. I did see that you did have some concerns which we are in the process of taking care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $82 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing