We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, easy to get to, great pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
White River Junction, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent location, easy to get to, great pool.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Just what we want in a hotel when vacationing - convenient location, clean, quiet, nice pool. Bfast was so-so but not a big issue. Pool was great! Bessingers next door great for dinner. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MKEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear MKEQ,

Thanks so kindly for the lovely review. It's our pleasure to offer you convenience, the comforts of a clean and quiet room and our great pool. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    393
    130
    65
    47
See reviews for
434
446
60
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
APEX
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Comfortable night's sleep. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was decent, but got very crowded. We would stay here again if we got the same deal on the price (used the special price available on the Best Western website).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RoseL727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Rosel727,

Many thanks to you for taking the time to post this review. It was nice to see you found the staff very friendly. We are including plans in the near future to expand our area so all of our guests have the opportunity to enjoy our great breakfast. We would love the chance to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Sweetgrass Inn was a good Value for the dollar - great feature of keeping car while on cruise and helpful staff. 10 people - we had 3 cars and the hotel had a port shuttle available. Well done! Would stay again for a cruise experience leaving from Charleston!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear John H,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and take advantage of our park and cruise package. We are pleased to offer any service that would make your cruise travel experience more enjoyable. It was wonderful to see that you were satisfied with every detail of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Sweetgrass Inn is located an US 17 just south of the Charleston peninsula, an easy 10 minute drive to downtown Charleston. While it is located on a busy highway, most of the rooms are wll back from the road, and it is very quiet. We stayed in the building farthest from the road, on the ground floor, and found our room to be clean and comfortable for our three-night stay. It was also well equipped with the basic amenities one comes to expect from a 2-3 star motel/hotel.
We did not use the pool or the fitness room, so I cannot comment, but we did partake of the breakfast offerings each day, which were above average. Service was excellent. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear NPSjunkiekev,

Thanks for posting the review. It was great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to offer a convenient location that offers easy access to all of the surrounding areas. I was also delighted that you found the breakfast selection to be above average. We are proud to offer excellent service to our wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was very clean, comfortable and located in a great area but the difference was with the staff. OUTSTANDING!! Best employees I have encountered in any business in a very long time. The hotel was very clean, the room was well decorated, the pool was great, the continental breakfast was very good, nice variety of food and was open for a substantial time, 7 to 10 am.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ann H,

Thanks for such an excellent review. The staff here really tries to provide our guests with the best service possible. It was so refreshing to see that you thought the staff was outstanding and the best that you have encountered in any business in a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

BW Sweetgrass Inn is a good value with a convenient location to most of Charleston's attractions. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The breakfast was clean and roomy with outside dinning if desired. This BW has a nice, large, clean swimming pool with a generous supply of swimming "Noodles" for guest to use. The only down side was a lack of outlets and slow WiFi in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Bill M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate the feedback. It is lovely that you had such a positive guest experience from the staff to the breakfast to the room condition to our large lovely pool. I did see that you did have some concerns which we are in the process of taking care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzgerald, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel was clean, very efficent employees and eager to help youi with any thing you didn't understand about equipment.Everyone we came in contact with w so very polite and helpful We were allowed to have our pet and this gave us great peace of mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ester B,

We thank you so much for choosing us as your pet friendly hotel. We love pets and were glad to be able to accommodate you. It was great to see that you found everyone you came in contact with to be polite and friendly. Please visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing