We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, Wonderful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pet Friendly, Wonderful Staff!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was getting very flustered trying to find a hotel in this area that was pet friendly. Jana at the front desk was very kind and helpful when I called. I arrived a few min. later Jana had room ready for me (early check in, I was there at 11am). Amazing staff, pet friendly, nice clean rooms, comfortable beds too! Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Amy M,

I am so pleased you took the time to post such a lovely review. It was refreshing that you found the staff to be amazing. We were happy that we were able to accommodate your pet. You described the hotel as being "well worth the stay." Thanks again for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    385
    128
    64
    46
See reviews for
419
441
60
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Having travelled extensively in the $100 per night range of hotels across the southern and central US states recently, we can safely say that this Best Western was the worst with the possible exception of a truly lousy La Quinta in Omaha.

The good news is that the hotel is an easy drive into Charleston, so staying there allows you to avoid the extremely high hotel rates in and around the historical district. It is also located on an aging strip of half boarded up restaurants and other hotels heading out to the Interstate.

The bad news was that many of the rooms are just old and beat up. We are not just talking about dated decor. This place was cheap when first built many years ago and is just crappy now. We saw three rooms before the smells and the ratty bed sheets were not so unacceptable that we had to walk away from our prepayment.

The free breakfast was also a bad experience with too many people fighting over too little food. We were recommended by a smiling front desk staff to a breakfast diner down the street that had closed down. Many thanks.

The property set a low water mark by which we compared every subsequent hotel we stayed at. Not an experience we would wish on anybody.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Eric B,

Thanks for posting a review. We do appreciate the feedback be it negative or positive on our quest to provide outstanding service. I was totally dissatisfied that you were not pleased with any of the rooms that you were shown. This is simply not how we like to conduct business. I have had a conversation with my Director of Operations to put measures in place that will ensure that no one ever experiences this again. We are in line for a renovation which I am sure will address many of the issues you experienced while at our property. I did also urge the front desk to ensure they keep all dining options being offered up to date. Thanks again for the feedback and if you do return to Charleston we would like another opportunity to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

very clean place not to far from downtown Charleston or folly beach. had a great stay , great free breakfast, included pancakes, waffles muffins juices coffee, nice pool. enjoyed our stay. would stay again and recommend this hotel, staff was also very helpful in giving info especially the lady in the breakfast room went out of her way and printed us directions to local sites and places to see. thanks again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Mark G,

Many thanks to you for the awesome review. It was a pleasure taking care of you. It was amazing that all members of the staff did there equal share to make your stay an enjoyable one. It was great to see that you believed the hotel to be very clean and that you thought the breakfast was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 3 years. Our son attended the Citadel, which was close to the hotel. Everyone is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is good, the pool is refreshing. Easy to get to any of the attractions Charleston has to offer, centrally located. Would recommend anyone to use this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Hugh U,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. I was delighted to see that you have been visiting with us for the past 3 years. I'm glad that you find the staff nice and helpful and you find us to be centrally located making it easy to reach all areas nearby. Thanks again and I'm sure we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kawkawlin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a great experience for the hotel. The breakfasts were delicious, plenty of variety, and the pool was quite refreshing after a day of walking downtown Charleston. The only thing that we saw could be improved upon is the knowledge of local attraction. I would recommend for any hotel to encourage, if not help pay for, their staff to experience these attractions first hand so they may be better able to recommend based upon experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Nicole G,

Many thanks to you for the awesome review. I'm so pleased that your experience with us was great. I did notice that you were dissatisfied with the lack of knowledge of attractions by the front desk staff. We did use this as a training opportunity and look forward to being able to provide better service in this area to all of our future guests. Thanks again for the feedback and please visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A very clean hotel, the grounds and pool area is nice too, they give you an up scale breakfast , fresh and hot waffles, pan cakes alone with all the usual food. rooms were clean and the bed was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear William H,

Thanks for such a positive review. We really appreciate it. I loved the fact that you thought we were really clean, had a good breakfast selection, and thought the beds were great. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

First time in Charleston and stayed here for 2 nights. Staff was amazing. So friendly and helpful. Breakfast each morning was more than enough to fill you up. Room was well kept and clean. Shower was awesome!! Probably one of the best I have ever experienced in a hotel. (and I have stayed in many) Perfect pressure and constant temperature. Good value for the location. Not a problem at all to get downtown. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear mikeinOntario,

I'm super delighted to hear that you spent your first nights in Charleston here with us. Thanks so much for choosing us. I really do appreciate you taking the time to post such a an awesome review. It is great to see that you thought the staff was amazing and the shower to be one of the best you ever experienced. We would love to take care of you again if you ever find yourself back in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
7.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing