We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel that allows dogs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels. Comfortable beds and room. Nice and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet with hot items. Would really recommend this to anyone. We were very welcomed even with our dog. The value was amazing and they did not even charge us a pet fee!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank klstebbins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear klstebbins1,

Many thanks to you for posting such a fabulous review about your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to see that you really enjoyed the deluxe continental breakfast bar and that you found the staff nice and helpful. We strive to provide the best service possible so I am happy that you were totally satisfied with your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place was wonderful. The value excellent. Service 5 stars. Will stay here again when in the area. They provided a very nice breakfast. Felt very safe in leaving our car parked there while on our cruise. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Within walking distance from a great BBQ place. Can't say enough good things about this place. Glad we found it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Pamela L,

Thanks for choosing to take advantage of our cruise package. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am hoping that your planning to spend time in Charleston when you return so we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good value relative to downtown accomodations. Easy to reach. Attractive, especially given that it's located on busy Hwy 17. Very nice landscaping. Competent and helpful staff. Location convenient to downtown, beaches and plantations. Just the basics, but decent breakfast, and the breakfast room is very pleasant, with an outside patio.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Mark B,

I would like to say thanks so much for the kind comments. We do really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to serving you again if you decide to revisit Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I work onilne and travel a lot. Many times I am working in hotel rooms. The setup of the room was perfect! Also, the room was clean, staff nice, good value, and drive-up outside entrance. The location was good. Close to downtown, Folly Beach, and the Citadel. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Wendy S,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm elated to see that you found the room setup very accommodating. We are very thankful that you chose to stay with us. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Have stayed here twice (soon to 3X)and each stay gets better & better. I've asked for directions to certain shopping venues & the front desk person printed them out for me----how helpful. Asked for additional towels from housekeeping and they appeared immediately. Lovely breakfast room (indoors & out). Beautiful swimming pool. Hotel personnel cannot do enough for you. Bathroom was spotless. Bed was as comfortable as home. Great pillows. Refrigerator was a REAL plus. No negatives!

Room Tip: Could tell you my favorite room, but then it might not be available for me! I prefer second floor r...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzon Folk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Suzon Folk M,

Thank you so very much for posting such a lovely review. The entire staff recognizes that they are here to provide the best customer service possible. I am so pleased that you are a new member to our repeat guest family. It is a pleasure to continue to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband had made reservations at a very well respected B&B in Charleston over the weekend of October 5, 2013. Long story short: they didn't have our room even after we had called to let them know we were heading up there and would be about five hours away. My husband was so upset because this was the very first time I was available to get away from work for our anniversary and he knew he had made the arrangements and was so upset about letting me down. All the rooms in the area had been booked and Sweetgrass Inn had two left. Not only did Maria understand our dilemma but she helped us out with the room rate and saved our anniversary. Although we weren't able to make our dinner/dancing reservations, which were certainly no fault of hers but the 'lovely' B&B's, Maria had smoothed out the rest of the evening for us and I can tell you right now that customer service trumps a fancy room any day of the week for us. We will remain loyal to The Sweetgrass Inn and will never stay anywhere else from now on. Thank you for making our weekend, Maria!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefenfuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Chefenfuego,

Thank you kindly for posting a review. It is always a pleasure to hear that one of my guest service agents have won another loyal customer. Providing great customer service is very important to us so when I read comments such as yours it lets me know that we are doing a great job of extending it to our guests. We look forward to seeing you in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent our 26th wedding aniversary here. This was one of the best hotels we have been at, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The pool was better than going to the beach to just relax pool side and jump in to refresh. My wife and I will be back here in april for our get away from the winter. She already wants me to plan and book the room. The experience was great. The palm trees really were nice to sit under on a hot day. It really is a Beautiful place to stay.Thank you for the get away.

Room Tip: We stayed off the pool side we figured it would be loud but it was nice the palm trees are great to...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Tjf01,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We do have a lot of return guests, so I was delighted to see that you are our newest addition. The outdoor pool that we have at our property is one of the largest in the area and I am proud to have it. I was happy to find that the rooms were pleasant and accommodating for you. Thanks again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $82 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing