We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. Felt safe and secure in an up and coming area of Charleston. Good price. The hotel maintains the facility and the grounds. The grounds are pretty and add to the ambiance of the site. The rooms and property are clean. Plan to stay here on my next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ratliff102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Ratliff102,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the feedback we get through forums such as this one.

I was delighted to read that your enjoyed your visit with us and found our property to be a "great place to stay". We do try to provide each of our guests a memorable visit; it is rewarding to know that we were successful in your case.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Read comments sent to hotel. Customer service was well beyond the call of duty by many of the employees. Nice & clean smoker friendly room. We couldn't have made a better choice on trip to attend a wedding on John's Island. A special thanks to Brandi & Maria. We had 3 rooms at the Best Western with 2 persons per room, 2 N/S rooms and 1 smoking room for us older travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Susan W,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, both through this forum and the personal letter you sent us. We really appreciate the feedback.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and to know that Brandi and Maria were able to provide such excellent service and help in making your trip so memorable.

Again, thank you so much for the comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Talisha was very friendly & helpful. The room was clean, spacious & comfortable. The grounds were attractive, with lots of trees & greenery and were clean & well maintained. It is not a new property but has been so well maintained that you can enjoy it like it is. The rooms have a fridge & microwave. They have ample parking. The free breakfast was better than you normally expect. Large variety of items available including good coffee, 2 types of yogurt & fresh fruit. The attendant was helpful as well, stepping in any time it appeared that a guest needed help, she did not wait to be asked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear nancy m,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate the opportunity this forum gives us to interact with our guests.

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our property to be a "great place". I was also delighted to know that Talisha was able to make such a positive impact upon your stay.

Again, thank you so much. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very Nice, we were like a 7min drive from Downtown, Beaches or anywhere we wanted to go. Front Desk very pleasant, helpful. Wonderful Clean, Quite and Comfortable Room. My daughter, 4 yr old grandson and I stayed and had the most wonderful time! Very nice large pool!!! We were there end of July, went to downtown (No problem getting there or parking) also went to the beach. Felt very secure here at Sweetgrass, Security is top notch. Will stay again!!!!!

Room Tip: Any Room, just a quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojonana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Jojonana1,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your July visit. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you and your family had such a wonderful time and that you found your room to be "clean and comfortable" as well. As we share these reviews with our staff members, I am certain they will be quite happy to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent a night but the car spent the week. A great hotel and a real value. As an added bonus, we didn't have to deal with the Port of Charleston to park. Our luggage went from the hotel lobby to our stateroom with no additional handling by us. The limo service was very attentive too. Hotel includes one-way to port and parking, the ride back is optional and $10.00 each.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank JDH03457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear JDH03457,

Thanks so much for posting your review. We really appreciate the feedback. I hope you had a wonderful time on your cruise.

I was very happy to read that you found our cruise package to be a "real value". I hope you'll return to Charleston in the future so we can serve you again.

Thanks again for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Front desk was helpful suggesting a restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful. Even brought over my husband's waffle when it was done. A little distance from downtown but still was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Deborah K,

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you had a "nice stay" and found your room to be "clean and comfortable" We share all of these reviews with our staff. I am certain they will be quite happy to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Inn was well kept, clean and the help was very nice. They had a bus of soccer players in while we were there, so the staff was stretched to the max.The players had left clothes out in the walkway to dry (anyone who lives in the South knows that clothes don't dry outside when it's been raining!).
The breakfast was good for a motel breakfast- normal cereal, donuts, bread, waffles. But once again because of the bus load of boys- the woman working in there was struggling to keep the food filled.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I think the room location totally depends on who else is staying there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginnyeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear ginnyeck,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate the feedback.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and found our inn to be "well-kept and clean." Thank you as well for noticing how hard our breakfast server was working so as to provide excellent service to all of her guests.

Again, thank you so much. I really hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing