We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent for the price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Kata, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very clean, right in the middle of town. Close enough to downtown without paying the downtown price. Waffles and pancakes for breakfast,with other asst. items. Would definitely stay here again. Comforable beds. Close enough to all attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginiasmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear virginiasmon1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We really appreciate the opportunity to improve that forums such as this one afford us.

I was very happy to read that you found our property "excellent for the price". As we share these reviews with our staff, I am certain they will be delighted to know their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    338
    111
    60
    43
See reviews for
359
377
55
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is an older motel with some cosmetic updates (new beds and flat-screen TVs). This motel is advertised as a 3-star facility on some websites, but we have stayed at much nicer (and cheaper) 2 1/2 star facilities. In general, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear James L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your recent visit with us. We really appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry you were disappointed by your experience with our property. We do try to insure that every guest enjoys not only their time in Charleston, but their visit with us as well. Obviously, in your case, we failed in that mission. I will share this review, as we do all reviews, with our staff so they can learn what impact their actions have.

Again, thank you so much. I hope you'll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The breakfast was just good, no variety to chose from- same thing everyday.The location was great about 8-10 min outside charleston very easy to and from. on route 17 which is the main road to everything. The room where very clean and comfortable. Front office was busy but they smiled and were quick to get to us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do appreciate the feedback we get through forums such as this one.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

we had beed recommended this hotel by a friend and certainly glad she did! the rooms were clean,the pool is huge and the grounds were stunning. the best part of this hotel is its staff! every person we encountered was extremely professional and friendly! the location is outstanding ,a short drive to any of the beaches ,downtown Charleston , or amazing restraunts. we will definetly stay here again and recommend it to everyone who asks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear lisa m,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. And, thank you to your friend for telling you about our property.

I was delighted to read your review. I was especially pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and our grounds stunning. Our Property Operations staff will be very happy to read that their hard was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Through Costco Travel I decided to stay at this hotel- it is in an older area outside of Charleston but has been updated. The rooms are nice with newer beds and bedding. Breakfast room is large and the landscaping around the hotel is mature with many birds. It is just a short drive to all points of interest in the area.

Room Tip: It is quiet near the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear C S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was very happy when I read your review. It was especially nice to read that you enjoyed the mattresses and bedding we recently installed.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just back from a 4 day getaway at this hotel. When I booked, I was looking for a location that was centrally located, reasonably priced, pet friendly, clean and safe. This location exceeded my expectations. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. We were within 10 minutes to most attractions and downtown Charleston. If I had to say anything, it can be a little tough entering and exiting the parking lot from Savannah Highway. Be prepared as this road seems to be a major roadway. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Felita L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit with. We really do appreciate the opportunity we get to interact with our guests through forums such as this one.

I was very happy to read your review. I was especially excited to read that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. As we share these reviews with our staff, I am certain that they will be delighted to know their hard was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had to make an emergency trip to Charleston 6-23-13 to pick up my sick, teenage daughter. A local minister recommended this motel. We were there 3 nights while I waited for her to recover enough to make the trip home. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. Everyone was so pleasant to deal with. The front office staff were some of the best I have ever dealt with as they helped me find the best rate I qualified for, gave recommendations for hospitals, clinics, pharmacies, and restaurants along with printed driving directions. The housekeeping staff were friendly and courteous as were the breakfast attendants. Our room was kept very clean as was the dining area(although the dining area was a bit too small to handle a full breakfast demand). While the rooms were older, they were updated with very comfortable beds. A small fridge and microwave were also in the rooms. This was especially helpful for us. The landscaping was lovely. The pool looked marvelous, although we didn't get to use this amenity :( If I ever have the opportunity to return to Charleston for pleasure, I will certainly plan on staying here again! They certainly made an unpleasant,scary situation much more tolerable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girlzrule1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear girlzrule1,

First and foremost, I certainly hope that your daughter is feeling better. Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.

I was very happy to read that you were able to enjoy your visit as your daughter recovered. And, it thrilled me to read that my staff was able to assist you in such a personal way. I certainly hope you'll be able to visit with us when the circumstances are not quite so dire.

Again, thank you so very much for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing