We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Sweetgrass Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Southern Sweetgrass Hospitality”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff was superb..from the front desk people answering questions and offering suggestions to the breakfast room staff to the cleaning staff .

The location is especially convenient to downtown and for visiting other sights in the area if one has a car.


Sweetgrass Best Western is an excellent choice for visiting Charleston with a car. It is a quick and easy ride to downtown and easy access to multiple sights in the Charleston area. The hotel is clean and well kept with terrific staff. The front desk people were all friendly and full of useful information and suggestions for first time visitors. The breakfast area staff kept it running smoothly and efficiently. The room was consistently cleaned. Beds and pillows were very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripperFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear RoadTripperFun,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really do appreciate the effort our guests make to share their comments.

Our make a concentrated effort to hire those associates who have a passion for service and who understand our mission to insure that each guest enjoy not only their stay with us but their visit to Charleston as well. It seems, in your case at least, that we came close to achieving this goal.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    371
    124
    64
    46
See reviews for
405
430
59
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel was especially comfortable,and the management superb.The hotel front desk clerk,Tika was very helpful,one of the nicest we encounted on our trip.We will make this our stop when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Susanne m,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We always value feedback from our guests as it allows us the opportunity to improve.

Our associates are the lifeblood of our operation; it was rewarding to read that Tika made such a positive impact on your visit to Charleston.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall a very convenient hotel for a short stay. Good price and excellent front desk customer service.

The morning breakfast is really good and among the best for the Best Western's I've stayed at before.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckenzthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear mckenzthm,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit. We really appreciate the feedback.

I hope that you'll choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The motel is an older 2-story facility that has had some upgrades but still shows its age. The staff is very friendly and the prices are very good. It is about a 10 minute drive from downtown Charleston and a great place to stay while visiting the historic city. The staff is very friendly and eager to help plan places to visit. The mattresses are new in 2013 and very comfortable and the breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marqman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Marqman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions regarding our property. We really appreciate the feedback.

One of our goals is to insure that every guest enjoys not only their stay with us, but their visit to Charleston as well. It was great to read that our staff was able to help with recommendations of things to do.

Again, thank you very much. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel offers clean, quiet comfortable rooms ata reasonable price and best of all for us is that they are pet friendly with a reasonable pet fee. I will make this hotel a regular stop on my way through Charleston. There are plenty of local places to eat and its a short ride to downtown Charleston. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: My room was in the building that was back away from the main road, very quiet and well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jablyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Jablyd,

Thank you so much for the review. We really appreciate the feedback.

It was very nice to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us as did your furry companion. We enjoy serving not only our guests but their pets as well.

Again, thank you for the comments. We look forward to serving you both on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was really happy with my stay there. The room was pleasant and quiet. It was clean but did not smell like strong chemicals. Since I was traveling with my dogs, I did not know what to expect. The staff provided wonderful service and were very friendly. I will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Kelly S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We make every effort to use cleaning chemicals that have no harsh smells as many guests find them offensive. Thank you for noticing. Thank you as well, for your kind words regarding our staff; I am glad they were able to make you feel comfortable.

Again, thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our first visit to Charleston, booked hotel strictly from searching internet, was Pleasantly surprised the Staff was wonderful. The hotel was beautiful and very clean, bed was comfortable, Breakfast was good Linda was very helpful in planning our daily outings. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieMrsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Carrie T,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and that Linda was able to make such a positive impact upon your trip. She is truly one of our "shining stars".

Again, thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing