We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed a whole week. The staff were all very friendly and cheerful. The Mon-Fri breakfast lady is just wonderful, attentive, friendly and very helpful. The room was comfortable, quiet and clean although also very dark. The window did not let in much light. The situation was ideal for local travel. Everywhere was in easy reach.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We strive to insure that every guests enjoys their visit with us as well as their time in Charleston. I have discussed your comments about the room being a little dark with our operations staff. We are looking into increasing the wattage of the bulbs used.

Thanks again for the feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    331
    108
    60
    43
See reviews for
349
366
53
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stay at this hotel 3-4 times per year. I am from Charleston and we visit my parents often. The people at this hotel are great! From the front desk employees to wonderful Linda in the breakfast room, they are all so nice and friendly. They make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Darlene,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We really appreciate the feedback.

We share these reviews with our staff and I can tell you Linda was very excited that her name was mentioned. Thank you so much for recognizing her efforts.

Again, thanks for the comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Couldn't be more pleased with our most recent stay at the Sweetgrass; as much as we always, always relish getting back to Charleston, it's more affordable when we can book a room at the Sweetgrass. Well, big Shout-Out to Monique!

Room Tip: upstairs is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear DMin,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We really appreciate that you took the time to review our property.

We are so happy that you enoyed your visit with us. We hope you'll stay again.

P.S. Monique says Hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ieesha at the front desk was wonderful, friendly, helpful and pleasant to deal with. Tonya, our room service attendant was efficient and friendly as well. Our pleasant experience stopped dead in it's tracts when we had to encounter the General Manager, Mr. Bill. He was rude and condensending, he repremanded hotel staff in front of us. He insinuated that we were not welcome because we had a specialty rate. He refused to allow us to extend our stay because he said that he only allowed two rooms per night at that rate. So we checked out and went to another hotel that was happy to accept our discounted rate.

All rooms are exterior access rooms, so you heard every door slam, every vehicle start up, maids carts rolling down the sidewalk. . . if you want to sleep ask for top floor in the back of the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
I'd like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their opinion. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was happy to read that Ieesha and Tonya were able to provide such wonderful service. As for their interaction with me, I cannot recall any recent interaction when a guest requested me to extend a "specialty rate".

In any event, thank you for the feedback. We really do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving and when I recently returned to Charleston I knew where I wanted to stay. Very conveniently located. Great value. Very clean. TERRIFIC STAFF !!!

I'm terrible with names, but the front counter staff ( Ieesha, 1st visit, Jana, 2nd visit, were fabulous !!! )

My new home away from home!

Everything was as good as it can get

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkingjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Bkingjay,

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate the feedback.

As we share these reviews with our staff, I am sure they will be excited to read them as I was. We are happy to be your new home away from home.

Thanks again for the review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with another couple to visit our daughter & go on a Carnival cruise. Very nice place to stay. Excellent value, inexpensive. Clean, quite. Everything we could ask for. Very comfortable beds. Nice HD TV, however it appeared the TV service was not in HD????

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are nice for not having to carry luggage very far. You can park right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Dave M,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope you enjoyed your cruise as well.

We do not currently have an HD signal in our guest rooms, however, we are working with our local cable provider to make that happen in 2013.

Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments. We hope we get to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing