We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome way to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome way to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After spending 29 hours travelling from Australia it was great to be greeted by such a friendly receptionist. She was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Very much appreciated. The room was clean and there was plenty of space. The location was great with many things nearby and easy to get to.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisamccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was very happy to read that our receptionist was able to impress you after your long trip from Australia.

I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again, should you return to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    331
    108
    60
    43
See reviews for
350
366
53
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at this Best Western and was very impressed with how clean the rooms were, it's convenience to downtown, and the service was excellent. Yes, I would stay again. It i also felt very safe, as I was traveling by myself.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solotravelerflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found our property safe.

Again, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The staff at the Best Western Sweetgrass are friendly, helpful and efficient. The property and rooms are well-maintained and clean with beautiful landscaping and comfy beds!
I would recommend this property to anyone looking for family oriented accomodations at a fair price. Hats off to the staff at Best Westen Sweetgrass, thanks for your professional representation of your property and company!****

Room Tip: "King sweet is cozy and accomodating"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We really do value this feedback.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We share these comments with our staff and I am sure they will be pleased to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at this Best Western in April of 2012 for a family member's funeral and sadly had to return in October 2012 for another family members funeral. But on both stays i was extremely satisfied, the front desk agents are always very pleasant and eager to assist you in anyway possible. One my last visit, i had a minor issue nothing worth mentioning however the staff and management took care of it instantly!! I do hope to visit Charleston on a more pleasant note and not for a funeral and enjoy the beautiful city and trust me Sweet Grass BW will be my stop. Great job everyone.

Room Tip: I like ground floors. and i had a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glama36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the candid feedback as it allows us to improve.

We appreciate that you have stayed with us twice and are quite pleased that you enjoyed your visits. I hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us under happier circumstances.

Again, thank you so much for the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Our room was in the back building and very quiet. Very spacious room. The refrigerator worked well. The front desk was very friendly. We used the fitness room. Good breakfast. Internet ok, but not very fast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioDave_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit with us. We really appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry you found our internet speed insufficient. We will be working with our internet provider to see if our speeds can be improved.

Thank you again for your thoughts. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and daughter are staying at the BW now for a brief two night visit with my older daughter who lives on James Island. We have stayed here several times and have always been happy with the property and the value we received. The rooms are fine, nothing fancy. It is obvious that the management works very hard to maintain this property. The grounds are well maintained, including the pool that we use in the summer. The location is perfect for visiting our daughter's house or a quick trip downtown. The staff, from the front desk, to the cleaners, to the maintenance workers are very friendly and accommodating. Look forward to our next visit in January.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJJ8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am happy we are able to serve you while you visit your daughter and we look forward to seeing you in January.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalton, ga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed outside city to save money. Conveniently located but on busy Hwy 17. There must be two types of rooms available - nice ones for those who must have paid full price who have raved about the motel and the ones like I paid for from a travel bidding site. Bed very comfortable, room smelled real musty, bathroom needs to be gutted and fixtures replaced. rectangular shaped toilet with an oval seat on it which didn't cover the rim. Looked as some rooms were rented to people who lived there. Coffee pot was not cleaned as of day three when I checked out. Found one dead bug and then killed one as it ran across the carpet. I have stayed in nicer budget motels. And the check in clerk got in a dig about the website through which I made my reservation. Didn't check the breakfast buffet. Room was on the backside of the property and was very quiet. Three star rating is generous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SeptemberDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their opinion. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry that you did not throughly enjoy your visit with us. I will be using this review in an upcoming associate training class as an example of the little things that can negatively impacts a guest's visit with us. We are committed to improving and it with feedback such as your that we will do so.

I hope you will give us another chance to impress you during your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing