We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Charleston
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,399)
Filter reviews
3,399 results
Traveler rating
2,090
901
251
96
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,090
901
251
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location brew pub happy hour historic district cheese and crackers meeting street small pool front desk staff cookies would definitely stay here again walked everywhere downtown charleston boutique hotel city market few blocks wonderful hotel southern hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 3,399 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located on Meeting Street in the old part of Charleston - a great place for touring historic Charleston. My sister and I shared a room with 2 queen beds on the second floor. It was comfortable, clean and pretty. Unfortunately our view was of an alley and the wall of the neighboring building, but that was fine. We were able to walk to restaurants and to meet up with our tours. They provide free parking, which is appreciated. Great pancakes in the restaurant for breakfast.

Room tip: Our room was on the second floor, easy to walk to but there is also an elevator available that will take you to the parking lot.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denver_COTravllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has some serious issues with housekeeping and maintenance. Hope they get those issues solved, would make it a much better place. On the positive side, it is a great location, close to shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank epd112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

My fiance and I have spent the last 3 Christmas Holidays in Charleston staying at the King Charles Inn each time. The location is unbeatable (with free parking), and so close to Market Streets, King Street shopping, great restaurants, the city shuttle and more. Add to that a very friendly and attentive staff, a nice bar and restaurant, and affordable accommodations that are always clean and perfect for our needs ... why go anywhere else! We'll be back, perhaps earlier than Christmas, we love the place!

Room tip: Ask for one of the larger Queens if available, unless deciding on King or larger. The small Queens are somewhat cramped, at least for us.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slake66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Plus:
Good location, walkable to many good restaurants.

Reasonably helpful staff.

Free parking on site.

Minus:
Old worn out mattress and soft pillows needs to be replaced.

A bit pricy given the product offering. You are essentially paying for the location.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank WBChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

We booked the Inn based on a friend’s recommendation, but I was a bit leery after reading some of the reviews, especially considering the increased rate for New Year’s Eve. Some travellers must be hard to please, or expect the Ritz for Inn pricing. We loved everything about it! The free parking and ability to unload baggage close to the elevator was a pleasant surprise bonus. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely, very comfortable with a good size washroom. Yes, the water pressure was a bit fickle while showering, but never for long... a few seconds at most. Not worth complaining about, really. It’s an older Inn, in the Historical part of the city, so we didn’t expect a modern facility, but it sure isn’t tired or smelly, as a couple of reviewers complained. The Manager’s Happy Hour was a welcome perk, with a variety of cheeses, crackers, olives, salami and grapes. The red wine was good and the bartender was very friendly. The location of the hotel couldn’t be better! Literally a block from the popular King St and 2 blocks from Market St, with many restaurants in easy walking distance. We were given a late check out in the morning, so that we could walk the city a bit before leaving again. We would definitely go back!! We were told that new management had taken it over, and that some renovations will happen, but I hope the prices don’t increase accordingly.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews