We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Mistake !”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 5, 2006

My husband and I had booked this hotel for our honeymoon 4 months in advance. However, once we arrived in Charleston, they told us they had overbooked and we no longer had a room! When we asked for the manager, an 18 year old kid came to the front desk and told us there was nothing they could do for us and we would have to stay somewhere else. We ended up staying at the Holiday Inn in the Historic District where they informed us that it was common policy for the King Charles to pay for our first nights stay, which they REFUSED to do. We found this hotel to be the most unprofessional establishment we have ever been to. We definitely do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank megachick96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,752 - 2,758 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2006

I didn't sleep...the walls are paper thin. I could hear actual conversations. Here's the good, bad and ugly. The good. Nice location. Lobby is pretty. Pool is nice. The bad. The pool only has three lounge chairs, one of which is broken. They charge 8.95 for breakfast (I thought it would be included just like the other hotels) The ugly...the rooms. They are small, smelly. There was orange mold on the bathroom tile. Another thing that upset me. Check out time is 12:00. We checked out and I asked if there would be a room for my daughter to lay down until our flight @ 2:30 (she wasn't feeling well) I know it would have been possible, but they said no. I would spend the extra money, get a better room and better service. If you don't mind a 10 minute walk I would reccommend Embassy Suites. The rooms are big and the customer service was great. I've learned - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilynkay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We decided to stay here based upon reviews from this site and other internet sites. We basically just wanted a place to sleep with a good location so we could fully tour the city. The location is good, but the service is horrible! The concierge is rarely there, but the biggest problem is parking. Yes, they do advertise complimentary parking, but there's not enough!! To make matters worse, they have an extra lot across the street. But the directions are not clearly marked. Because we parked in a different lot (since the check-in staff did not give us any directions), our car actually got "booted." After paying a fine to remove the boot, we asked several hotel staff all the way up to the general manager to help us remedy the situation. They were not very forthcoming or nice about it. The fee was not that much money, but for a city known for their hospitality, you would have thought that customer service would be a little better. We would definitely not stay here again nor would we recommend this hotel to others. Ditto on the thin walls- we woke up every time someone used the bathroom or opened a door.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank regana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2006

This isn't the prettiest hotel and I wouldn't necessarily book it for a special occasion. However, the location is excellent and in walking district to everything we wanted to see in the Historic District. The service was good and the room was very big with a comfortable bed. The walls are fairly thin and the balcony did overlook the car park - however, for a reasonably priced hotel we got plenty of space, a pool and free parking (v. useful as we had to pay for parking in most other hotels we stayed in) as well as being right in the centre. If you are looking for somewhere nice to eat, try Sticky Fingers, particularly the 'BBQ pulled pork' - the food was great.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Monroe, North Carolina
27
Reviewed May 30, 2006

My husband and I reserved a room with "private" balcony for our anniversery almost 2 months ahead. When we got there we had a room with a shared balcony overlooking the parking lot. When I ordered the room they said it was overlooking meeting st. I was also told that it was a suit but we did not even have a fridge.
The location is good and rooms are somewhat clean but for the money we paid for an 19 yr. wedding aniversery, it was very misleading. Also I don't know if it was mold or what but my husband and I woke every morning with stoped up heads and sore throts that got better when we went out.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Greenville
1
Reviewed May 15, 2006

It was much noiser that we thought it would be and the walls were extremely thin...you could hear EVERYTHING from the other room. The rooms were ok, the towels were kind of hard and the maid service did not understand the meaning of the "do not disturb" sign on the door. For a little more money a night, you could stay in a much nicer hotel in Charleston. The Best Western is a very old hotel that I feel overcharges because of its location.

Stayed: May 2006
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed three nights at the King Charleston Inn and I had booked a balcony room. When we arrived, the balcony rooms are shared among all the other balcony rooms and overlook the parking lot. I was very disappointed since I had paid extra and the floor was soaking wet from the air conditioner unit. I asked for another room since I was disappointed with the balcony and they gave us another room although the next people that got the room was still having problems with the air conditioner. I had read a review from this website about the walls being thin... they definately are. I could lie in bed and listen to every word being said in the room next to us. As far as location, I was pleased. It is within walking distance to everything and you get free parking. Would I stay there again? Maybe, if I had a coupon because it was definately not cheap.

3  Thank Mimi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,616 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $184 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing