We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible construction noise”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vienna,Va
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“terrible construction noise”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

A construction pile driver at 8 am awful noise left after one night Hotel has an awkward layout. S mall rooms. Avoid this hotel overpriced and noisy. Arrived at 4 pm and had to wait one hour. They hàve.notices on the rooms apologizing for the noise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 313164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I am sorry we did not meet or exceed your expectations. You are correct in noting there is construction on the corner next to the hotel. However, there are plenty of days there is no noise or impact to our hotel. It is unfortunate during your visit they started work early. I wish we had some type of control on their starting time, but it is beyond my control.
Your business is important to us and I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    731
    183
    67
    41
See reviews for
620
1,409
83
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
memphis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I was embarrassed that this was my choice for a hotel and that my friend and I paid over $400/night for our stay. Staff was not especially friendly - other than our bellman. I can forgive construction noise from next door which I understand is out of the hotels control, but our room was dark, cramped and the carpet was wet in spots upon arrival- unknown wet hotel carpet?! Gross. In fact it seems like the whole place needed to be recarpeted. Also the A/C is old and kept turning on and off every few minutes. Otherwise our room was clean- what I could see since it was so dark- and beds were comfy. Yes location is good but with so many options in downtown I would never stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ellis38103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I understand Charleston lodging can be very pricey especially March-April-May during our peak season so I can see how something less than perfect would impact your stay.I am quite concerned about the problems you mentioned during your visit. We have been newly renovated and basically nothing is very old; I certainly apologize for your less than pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Overall there is nothing outstanding about this hotel. The rooms were small, construction is going on next door and it was a little pricey for what it is.

The location was nice because we can walk to everything, but that wasn't enough to make me want to say at this hotel again.

We stayed at the Indigo last time and had free breakfast every morning and happy hour. The rooms were bigger and it was less expensive.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your candid review. I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Overall, I hope you enjoyed your trip to Charleston. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I generally use booking agents and find that their rates are comparable with what the hotel charges. Not for this one though!!! I would rate the King Charles as just "so so" for what I paid through an agent, but "terrific" for what it cost to book direct - a HUGE price difference! Take the trouble to call the hotel before making a reservation.......you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacQlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing this wonderful tip with others! Booking on line thru a hotel website or calling the hotel directly will always ensure the best rate is given! We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last March and returned last week. They provide excellent accommodations. The hotel is located within walking distance of the historic district and there is free wifi and parking. Since last year, there is a new lounge area where one can relax in front of a fireplace and also a new lounge area where breakfast is served. The rooms are spotless and well decorated. There is construction going next store but that isn't a problem since one is usually out and about during the day. I plan to return again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Feebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for making the excellent decision to return to the King Charles Inn! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty! I am thrilled to hear you are pleased with our newly renovated Upper Lobby and BREW Pub & Café! Thank you again for the nice review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a good choice as it is very convenient & you can walk everywhere. The parking below was great. I felt the room to be a bit tight. My suitcase is large and there was nowhere to put in down on the floor except between the two beds. I stayed for two nights with a teenage son and we were disappointed that the pool was closed. The construction next door was also a negative. I found this hotel to be quirky to enter and exit. Either through the parking garage or if coming through the main lobby, we had to go up the steps then outside past the pool, passing through a door before our wing where there seemed to be painters working at all times. I also prefer a gym on premises. It was clean and the bathroom was a nice size.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your trip to Charleston. Thank you for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just spend a long weekend in Charleston at the King Charles Inn. This is a fantastic hotel. Incredibly well located (you can walk to most everything) and the service was impeccable from booking through check out. After booking, they send you an email where you can request concierge service in advance of your arrival. They made tour and dinner reservations for us so all was taken care of when we arrived. Every staff member that we interacted with was friendly and helpful. The room was really nice - with a large bathroom; it was very clean and comfortable. Also, the free parking was a big help!!! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback during your recent stay! We pride ourselves on doing whatever we can to ensure all of our guests feel attended to, engaged and satisfied from the booking process to the checkout process! It seems like you were able to experience the genuine hospitality Charleston is known for! Thank you again for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing