We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in the Historic District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rittman, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Location in the Historic District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Even though I've been to South Carolina and Charleston a few times before, I never had the pleasure of staying in a historic downtown district hotel. This past weekend, I stayed at the King Charles with my husband and mother in law. She had stayed here previously and enjoyed it, so we bit the bullet on the somewhat higher price that you'll pay regardless for a downtown hotel. However, it was certainly the least expensive price I had seen (excluding the Days Inn which we examined and did not like the small, hard beds). The King Charles also included parking in their price, which was great. I'm not sure how much parking they have, because we stayed in the off season and barely got a spot.

Anyway, the check in was fantastic. The front desk staff were all impeccable and also acted as a full concierge if we wanted a dinner reservation or tour assistance. We like to explore on foot, so we just asked them to point us in a good direction. The room was also nice - I really enjoyed the decor. My only complaint was the bed. For two people, it was a squeeze. My husband and I are both average build, and we could barely move. It was also probably the least comfortable bed I slept on in the four different hotels I stayed in on this trip. However, it wasn't terrible ... Just not a good nights sleep.

Overall, I would probably stay here again because the price and location were very good and the staff was great. Anywhere else would've cost quite a bit more, plus parking. Enjoy the historic district! I'm so glad we stayed within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! Your feedback is important to us. I hope you are able to return again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    703
    176
    63
    40
See reviews for
591
1,348
81
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Cannot say enough about this great hotel. Devon at check in was friendly, accommodating and professional. Room was ready on time and is simply gorgeous. Exceptionally clean and inviting. The location in the historic area is perfect for walking to all attractions/areas of interest. The free parking is wonderful.
The small bar staff, Taylor and Jessica were friendly and took the time to explain area attractions to be seen and how to get around this fantastic city.
All of the hotel staff we have encountered have been extremely friendly and all willing to go out of their way to make our experience at this hotel nothing short of outstanding.
Our first time in Charleston but we'll be back and definitely will stay at the King Charles Inn again!

Room Tip: King room was spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I am glad you fell in love with both our location and especially our staff! Thank you for the fantastic review! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my first visit to Charleston and I wanted to be close to the historic/downtown area.
Everything was just around the corner from the hotel.The bellmen were helpful and the staff was attentive. Monica was kind enough to take the time and point out the major areas of attraction on a map, she was also able to work with housekeeping to accommodate an early check in! I was kindly upgraded to a king size room and found a sweet amenity with a card in the room for my birthday! The room was very clean and there was a generous amount of towels in the bathroom, the housekeepers were sure to keep the toiletries replenished every day. The bed was extremely comfortable and cozy. Unfortunately, the mini fridge was turned up too high so the bottles of water were frozen and there was a "wind" like sound coming from the air ducts. The bar area was generous in giving bottles of water. The Fire place with the sofa was a cozy place to sit and relax at the end of the day. I would return to King Charles Inn and highly recommend it to other travelers! Be sure to visit Jestine's Kitchen for a good Southern meal (Pecan fried Chicken), Toast Restaurant for breakfast and rent a bike from the Bicycle Shoppe to enjoy the complete scenery of Charleston!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piosellirec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I realize there are many hotel options to choose from in Charleston so we thank you for selecting the King Charles Inn! Thank you also for the kind words regarding my staff, they really are a special team and they certainly enjoy helping the guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a fantastic hotel. The staff was beyond excellent and took great care of us. Location was perfect and we actually walked everywhere around the historic/downtown area right from our hotel. The room was very comfortable, with the only drawback being the HVAC unit in the room, but even that was not a big deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I am just thrilled to read your review! Thank you! I hope you can return in again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Top flight service from the second you get out of your vehicle. Been a while since I have seen such dedication to satisfaction from every member of the staff. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Great to be so close to everything.

Green Features: Love the conservative practices with the linens and bedding.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdee919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
What a wonderful compliment! We sincerely appreciate your business and cannot thank you enough for sharing this review with others on-line!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We loved staying there for 5 nights. The staff was incredibly nice and polite. the doorman remembered our names and greeted us with a friendly smile each time we were coming back. The hotel is located just steps from King Street and restaurants. We chose to have our breakfast at the hotel. We could easily eat for 8-10 dollars and the portions were very plentiful. At night we could enjoy a glass in front of the fireplace. It is really a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Chabichou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review! I am especially happy to see that you found our staff to be extremely friendly and helpful! Our Upper Lobby has been recently renovated and it was nice to hear you enjoyed its cozy atmosphere! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 enjoyable nights after Christmas. Charleston is a small city, especially when you consider the heart of the city. This hotel is located at the northern part of downtown, but it was walking distance to everything. Upon arrival, we were greeted by very friendly doormen who took our baggage to the room. All the staff was very helpful. We stayed in a king bedroom, which was quite spacious, well decorated, and maintained. We didn't have the best view (overlooking the parking garage), but we spent most of our time wandering the beautiful streets. The only issue we had during our stay was that the heater broke one night. Luckily they sent someone to fix it right away.

There's a restaurant located in the hotel, but there were too many good food choices around for us to try it. My favorite thing about this hotel was the location. It's right across the street from FIG, which is one of the highest rated restaurants in the city. But then again there are SO MANY great food options in this city. Market Street is just a couple blocks down as well. If you like walking as much as we do, you can walk anywhere in the historic district from the hotel. We even walked to the aquarium and Fort Sumter ferry (only a 15 min stroll). If you're planning on exploring downtown, then there's really no need for a car during your stay.

It's not a fancy hotel, but I'd recommend it! Great value for the quality and location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monicab702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! Your valued opinion means a lot to us! We appreciate your business and hope you have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing