We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western King Charles Inn”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Western King Charles Inn”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have just spent a week at this hotel after reading other people's reviews, and I was not disappointed. Great location for discovering Charleston. The room was very clean and an
amazingly comfortable bed. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and our cases were taken from us on arrival and delivered to our room. Free parking and always plenty of spaces, and free wifi. If I ever returned to Charleston I would definitely book this hotel again. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay a happy one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! I am glad you found the King Charles Inn to be spot on for travel needs! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    719
    179
    67
    40
See reviews for
607
1,386
83
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was clean. All staff was professional and friendly. The location is great for walking the city. The staff was helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. You must use your key card for doors and elevator which is great for safety .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you kindly for the great review! I am thrilled to hear we did not disappoint! I am happy to hear we were able to contribute to your wonderful vacation experience! Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Travelled to Charleston for a family wedding. Hotel was an excellent choice. Location was perfect. Ideal downtown location within walking distance to all attractions, especially market and restaurants. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nanrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your positive experience with others. We appreciate your business! I hope you enjoyed the Wedding weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this lovely Charleston Hotel after searching through many reviews. We were totally satisfied with our selection. All of the staff are super friendly & accommodating. Shout out to Paris, David, Joshua & Jess for their outstanding customer service! All the employees displayed excellent customer service no matter their job they all made you feel comfortable & welcome. BW King Charles is in an excellent location on Meeting St, easy walk to The Market and all other areas in the Historic District. This hotel is extremly clean. Rooms are small but did not feel cramped. We had a double queen with very comfortable beds, large closet for clothes, huge bathroom. Loved the free parking & never got in our car agin until it was time to leave! Will stay here again if ever we return to Charleston! Thank you for a very lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nmblover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding my staff! They take such great pride in their jobs; I am glad it shows!
I appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful compliments with others! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very nice Best Western and is one of the better values for a hotel in the center of Charleston and an easy walk to great shops and restaurants. It is very nice inside and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank eel217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am glad you fell in love with our great location! Its so nice to be able to walk everywhere once you park your car! I hope you enjoyed Charleston and all she has to offer! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location is spot-on and the staff goes over and above. We were allowed to check in a little early and we were allowed to park our car the next day till 4:00 PM after we checked out. I really can't say enough about the Front Desk Staff, the are what service is all about.

The rooms were comfortable and well-appointed.

Green Features: I could care less and I do not pay any attention to this practice.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkpr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! Being able to park for free and leave your car in our private parking lot until 4pm sure makes checkout day hassle free! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Renovations in recent years have make this a cut above what we expected from a Best Western. You can't beat the location and the rooms are nicely decorated and well-appointed. The small in-room fridge was very helpful, since this was a 2 day stop on our way to a Hilton Head timeshare and we had a cooler of food we needed to keep fresh. Don't miss the manager's reception at 4:30. It's only cheese and crackers in the small bar but the manager, Maureen Sheridan, will spend time helping you with restaurant recommendations and any information you need about your visit in this lovely city. Parking is onsite and free, a bonus for us.

Room Tip: Most rooms look over a parking courtyard so don't expect a great view. There aren't many go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am thrilled to hear you are pleased with our renovations! Thank you for making Charleston the first stop over of your southern vacation! I also hope you enjoyed your week in Hilton Head! I appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,826 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing