We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Charles Inn
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,064)
Filter reviews
3,064 results
Traveler rating
1,915
823
206
75
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,915
823
206
75
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbrew pubhappy hourhistoric districtcheese and crackersmeeting streetsmall poolfront desk staffcookieswould definitely stay here againdowntown charlestonwalked everywhereboutique hotelcity marketthe entire staffwonderful hotelfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,943 - 1,948 of 3,064 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have stayed in hotel several times. Would recommend it to any friend. Not the Ritz but accommodations are clean, well decorated and serviced appropriately. It's convenient to downtown Charleston and parking available on site. Pricing is favorable with AAA discounts. Would choose this housing again. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dorotha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for discovering our gem of a hotel on Meeting Street! We appreciate your business and hope to always win you over! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice hotel near all of the sites in Charleston. Has a lounge & pool - unusual for this type of smaller hotel. Staff friendly and hotel offers on site parking also unusual in the area. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

I am so glad you booked with us and really enjoyed our "hidden gem"! Thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were a tad nervous about the initial size of the "quaint" queen room, but those reservations immediately faded once we realized the quality of the room. The bathroom was immaculate and relatively spacious. The linens were crisp and had a southern flair. Imported toiletries and an in-room Keurig machine sealed the deal. The view from our window added to the southern charm of this room. You walk out of the hotel and are in the middle of the historic part of Charleston, just minutes (walking) from the City Market. Add to it a warm, caring staff and FREE Parking and it becomes even better! This was an EXCELLENT balance of accommodation, amenities and affordability. I highly recommend the King Charles!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Our boutique hotel located in the heart of the historic district is sometimes overlooked, I am glad you found us! Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August while visiting Charleston. It's very upscale for a Best Western. And the location is great. Convenient to everything. And we could walk everywhere. We were upgraded to a king room and had a beautiful shared balcony with rocking chairs and french doors. Bathroom was huge and everything was decorated very nicely. The bed was comfortable. The pool was nice and they had a happy hour every day at 5:00pm with cheese, crackers and grapes. It was a really nice touch. There was always cold, fresh water too which was nice when it was so hot out. The bar area was great, also decorated beautifully as well as the upstairs library area that had a computer for customer use. They did have breakfast that you could pay for, but I never did eat at the hotel. Also the included parking was a great bonus and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone at the hotel was always saying hello and went out of their way for us. Overall a great hotel, a wonderful stay and I would no doubt be back here if I returned to Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

The Upper Lobby renovation is complete and I am thrilled you enjoyed our new look! Brew Pub and Café just recently opened and it has been very popular amongst our guests! Thank you for sharing your nice compliments with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

You really can't beat the price and location of this hotel. Staying here puts you a quick walk to anywhere you want to go. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions, advice etc. The rooms are not very big, but they are extremely clean and comfortably. The bar, pool area, lounge and patio are all very well done. Our kids loved spending an hour in the pool after touring Charleston on a hot August afternoon. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank MACEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Location, Location, Location! I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Holy City! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews