We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
White Pine, United States
2 reviews
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times now and have loved it every time.The location and parking can't be beat by other comparable hotels.I plan to book a trip at this hotel next year. The new renovations to the hotel are wonderful. The only thing that I would like to see added if it were possible to add would be a hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Repeat guests are so important to us! Thank you for your loyalty over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    719
    179
    67
    40
See reviews for
607
1,386
83
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Love the city of charleston SC.The hotel is located in the best spot for all actives that charleston has to offer.To relax at the pool after a day of site seeing is great,and being next to the bar helps to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ChrisMIller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Summer is a busy time for us at the outdoor pool and it is refreshing to see the children having a great time! I am thrilled to hear your family had a wonderful time in Charleston! Thank you for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chazy, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The best Western offers good rooms at a good price in Charleston
For less than $200 got a double queen room in the heart of the historic District of Charleston
All the sites are in walking distance.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and stylish.
The decor of the interior of the hotel is very unique and inviting.
Hotel also has a very nice pool and a nice bar and breakfast area where drinks and food can be purchased at a very reasonable price.
I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and spending a few days in Charleston seeing all the wonderful shops and historic buildings. Also make sure you check out the marketplace and waterfront district it is a must-see.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with others! We just love to exceed the guest expectations and be able to upgrade when we can! I hope you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very conveniently located within everything we wanted to see, the free parking is a great perk as is the refrigerator in our room. We had the surprise of a free up-grade which gave us a very lovely room at no extra cost over what we had reserved. Great staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and five star rating! Your business is important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just finished a three night stay at the BW King Charles Inn. Could not have asked for a better experience. Rather than reiterate the room and its amenities as many other reviewers have done, I would like to point out the property IS just as advertised! A rarity these days.

Suffice to say a well appointed, clean and comfortable place to lay our weary heads after long days (and evenings) of enjoying all that the heart of historic Charleston has to offer within walking distance(s)…History, shopping, dining, entertainment, etc.

Having stayed at other properties in the heart of Charleston, I believe the King Charles is unsurpassed in bang-for-the-buck. But most importantly I want to express kudos to the staff…all friendly, helpful, personable, and johnny-on-the-spot. A special thank you to Richard at the door for his city insight and late night baseball chats.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GE_KA_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I am delighted to read your review! I will certainly share your kind words with my staff and commend Richard! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a long-weekend getaway. While the rooms are on the smaller, size it was fine for 2 adults and 2 small children. The kids loved the pool which is next to a lovely covered terrace and the hotel lounge/bar. The location is great for walking to most of the tourist destinations and a short, easy drive to the beaches. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, but we did have breakfast one morning. The selection is very limited, so we opted to go elsewhere for most breakfasts. Overall, we enjoyed the Kind Charles Inn and were very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Having the outdoor pool is such an awesome perk in the summer--in downtown Charleston! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Station, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a week at Isle of Palms and another week at Edisto, we checked into this hotel for our weekend in Charleston before heading home. Parking was free, a rarity in Charleston, quiet, and within walking distance to just about everything you need. The breakfast was good and inexpensive and staff was extremely friendly and helpful! With rising costs of hotels, this is a wonderful value. The rooms may be small by the standards of some but what do you really need? Quiet, clean, and comfort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the exceptional feedback and the five star review! We sincerely appreciate your business! I hope you enjoyed Charleston and all it has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,826 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing