We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to walk to everything”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location to walk to everything”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel, but spent very little time in the room. It was in a great location to walk to everything that you would want to do in the city. The people were very nice from the front desk to the bartenders. The room was cool, the bed very comfortable, everything that we needed was there: refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, etc.. If you come to Charleston to do some urban exploring, this is the place. It is a great value compared to most of the other hotels in this neighborhood, yet the rooms are perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Charleston being voted #1 City to visit by Travel + Leisure sure makes us proud! We hope you enjoyed your trip to the Holy City and thank you for your kind words regarding the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,734
    719
    179
    67
    40
See reviews for
607
1,387
83
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It's so hard to really judge "walking distance" by a map online, but I must say this location was GREAT! We walked to Fleet's Landing for lunch on the water and explored Charleston on foot. Once we parked (for free) at the hotel, we didn't move the car until checkout. The hotel was VERY clean and upgraded. Loved the nice bar area as well. I wish all Best Westerns were modeled after this one, but it's clear that this location is the exception. They even have printed directions at the front desk to go to Sullivan's Island, Isle of Palms, etc. from the hotel location.

Room Tip: Watch your step when you walk out of the front hotel door. We were so focused on everything else tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
My staff and I would like to thank you for the awesome review! I am so thrilled you enjoyed not only our guestrooms but the complimentary parking as well! Isn't it just wonderful to be able to park for free, not worry about your car and walk everywhere? Charleston is such an amazing city to enjoy on foot! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in a king deluxe room.Room was clean and attended to every morning.Staff was friendly and helpful.Location of Inn is only a block from Market Square making everything convenient.Had a wonderful time and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the lovely five star review! We appreciate your business and hope you can come south again in the near future! Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during our road trip. Easy to find with free parking a plus. The reception area was modern with a nice sitting area with bar/restaurant area. Check in was good and staff seem friendly.
Our room was good with comfortable beds. The room itself was a bit noisy because we were at the end near the lift so there was a fair amount of noise coming and going.
The bathroom was well designed with a bath and overhead shower. Bath plug not working well so the water had to keep running for a decent bath.
But that was a minor moan....
Breakfast was a set menu which may not suit everyone. We only ate here once as we did not feel we had what we really wanted and perhaps a bit overpriced. Plus look after the non coffee drinkers!
Nice swimming pool area and a sitting area outside.
Good to have a comfortable bar to come back to in the evening.

This hotel is convenient and we managed to walk to all that we needed to see.

Room Tip: Can be noisy if the room is near the lifts and the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your trip report with others! We sincerely appreciate our international travelers! I hope you enjoyed your holiday in the USA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I spent a 4 night weekend here towards the end of June. We were attracted by the free parking and the proximity to the historic district. We were not disappointed. En route, we had stayed at some excellent B&Bs as part of our 2 week road trip and there was a noticeable difference in this experience. It was refreshing to reclaim our anonymity to an extent, and not feel that we had to trot out our life story to everyone we met on the stairs or over breakfast. Although charming at first, this had started to become tedious. Instead, we made full use of the very efficient front desk staff who proved to be very knowledgable about the city and area, and superb at fixing up reservations on our behalf. As importantly, there was always a presence with someone friendly on duty to assist you. Our room was quiet, clean and very comfortable without all the twee furnishings and so-called "antiques" which cramped our previous rooms. Eating out in Charleston can be very expensive, but we found some very acceptable restaurants close to the hotel which were good quality and reasonably priced. We did miss the early morning, complimentary supply of freshly made coffee in the B&Bs, but a takeaway from a nearby Starbuck's enabled me to provide the soya latte necessary to kick-start my wife's day. Overall, this hotel suited us in every respect and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone seeking a mid-range, convenient and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your kind words! My Front Desk staff certainly enjoys assisting guests with local tours and recommending the restaurants we all patronize! We try to treat everyone like family! Thanks for allowing us to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed in king deluxe room, interior, overlooking inside parking area, without balcony, second floor, two nights.

Pros: Front staff very friendly. Free parking in interior court area. Room very clean. Room was attended each day and replenished with what was needed. Nice shower. Nice bathroom amenities (soaps and shampoos). Good (but not full-size) pillows. Extra pillows in room without asking. In-room safe and fridge. Quiet. Prompt elevator. Bar (sort of -- it's a place you can order a drink, if you don't care about atmosphere.)

Cons: A/C unit located near the bed, blew cold air every ten minutes or so over the bed -- had to stack up the overstuffed pillows to block the air vents so we wouldn't have to alternate between being warm/cold. Half of the room is spacious, but tight fit between desk and bed when someone is sitting at desk. Had to keep drapes closed so that rooms around the corner could not see into our room. Very limited breakfast (not included) that seemed to be microwave offerings that we did not sample. "Manager's reception" (happy hour) consisted of cheese cubes, crackers and grapes -- not exactly opulent.

While I had no complaints to speak of, neither did I feel pampered. I would have felt better about the value if the room had been $150 instead of $180 (without tax). I wasn't unhappy but it makes me think I would try somewhere else next time to see if the value/amenties are better.

PS: This is the second hotel room in a row I have stayed in that has had one of those radios with the flat rotating volume and tuning knobs that did not work. I can never figure out why hotels buy these things that do not hold up to constant use -- or why the hotels aren't prepared to test and replace them when they break, and are content to wait for customers to complain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crea8ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I thank you for taking the time to tell us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve our hotel for future guests. I'm so glad you enjoyed our bathroom amenities and friendly staff. We strive for excellent service and cleanliness so thank you for noticing our hard work in those areas!
Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance, so we always appreciate honest, candid feedback. I'm sorry you had trouble with the iHome radio and A/C unit! I will be sure to follow up on these as we definitely aren't content to wait for our customers to complain. :)

I'm a little disappointed to read your perception of the newest addition to our offerings: Brew Pub and Café was recently opened in our completely renovated dining area and has been received very well for the most part, but I would be curious to hear more details of what the atmosphere lacks. Most menu items are homemade in house or from local top-notch vendors. I hope will consider staying with us again and giving it a try. If you love a good value be sure to join our email list for occasional promo offers or check off-season rates. Thank you again for bringing these items to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has been updated since I stayed there on business, years ago. - The rooms are nice and comfortable and the staff really works to accommodate your needs. - They were very helpful with requests for info. and sightseeing ideas. Great location for touring the historic area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Our Front Desk staff loves to show off their city and we appreciate you noticing. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! I'm glad you enjoyed the upgrades we have made over the past few years; we are still making small improvements to the hotel so be sure and come back to check in :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing