We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. I visited Charleston with my best friend for four days. We were both astounded at the going room rates for hotels in this city and shocked that we were booking a Best Western for such high rates, but they were well worth it. Honestly, I feel like maybe they should downplay the Best Western connection because it conjures an image that is not representative of this hotel. The hotel is on its game in terms in décor, staffing, and amenities. The staff in all parts of the hotel are sharp, quick-witted, friendly, and informative (although one girl did give us completely inaccurate directions to St. Mary’s for mass at one point, but we made it – and if that is the worst of it, then that is a great record - haha). The hotel is newly-renovated and now has kind of a southern Restoration Hardware look, which we loved. There is free parking, which is wonderful, and $5 gym availability right around the corner. The gym is not fancy, but has great machines and classes. The guest rooms are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We did not use the pool, but could see how it might be a nice break from shopping and site seeing during the warmer months. The coffee shop is simple, efficient, and inexpensive, although it is not a full-service coffee shop (flavored cappuccinos, etc), but it is more than enough for the average hotel guest (and there are a number of cafes right down the street if you want something more elaborate). We booked a double room and there was more than enough space for both of us to get ready, etc. Each room has its own thermostat and there is a dash for electronics on the tv console. As mentioned above, the location is fabulous. It is one block from shopping; two blocks from the markets; and right next to Charleston Place and the historic section of town. Taxis to/from the airport run around $30 and traffic does not appear to be a problem, which is refreshing. Overall, we absolutely would stay here again and definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daz709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Being located in the heart of the historic district certainly makes your stay more enjoyable Just knowing you can park for free (and save up to $30 per night) is such a great perk! Thank you for your kind words and thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience! Was the first road trip for my girlfriend. This hotel has prime location, free parking, friendly staff and wonderfully beautiful and clean rooms. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone; walking distance to everything my car never moved. Hotel was quite and recent renovations were done with care. I felt like I was staying in a classic local boutique hotel! Just wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twilson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

The King Charles Inn is proud to be the special hidden gem on Meeting Street! Thanks for letting the secret out! I hope you enjoyed your stay in the Holy City and hope you can return in the near future! Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I checked tripadvisor for a hotel in the Charleston historic district. There were many good reviews about Best Western King Charles Inn. My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel. We were quite disappointed. The nice updated bathroom was too large compared to the room. The hotel is weird; the entrance to the elevators were outside the building. We spent like 10 minutes trying to figure out which elevator is the right one. The signage could be better. The corridors of the hotel were way too cold. However, the location was great within walking distance to most must-see. I would not go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry you had a hard time navigating the hotel. The hotel was built in 1959 and the layout may be a bit confusing to some but we think this adds character! All the rooms are recently renovated as well as our new Lobby and Restaurant. I do hope however, you did enjoy your visit to the Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Charlston is a hard town to find a hotel room, they are completely booked up for months at a time so book ahead, I managed to find a room here and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is on Meeting St. a very good position for the shops and also the old town, it is five minutes walk away from the old market and the free trolley service stops outside. The staff are delightful. Only coffee
or tea and doughnuts for breakfast at the moment. A real bonus is that parking is free, it costs about $14 a night in most places. I find that Best Westerns are beginning to be up there with the big boys, they do vary but their rates are always reasonable. This one has a pool and a rather nice pool area to sit and have a coffee, give this place a try, you will not be disappointed.

Jean A Lewis

Room Tip: ask for a room on the inside, away from the Street, I imagine the outer rooms good be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! We sincerely appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel, our room was impeccable, it is walking distance to the market and pretty much in the middle of everything... the only thing we didn't have it was a restaurant in site, I believe they were remodeling or something but service was fantastic, they did give us a discount in a nearby breakfast place that was very good and well priced. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flafami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Wow! Thank you for the five star review! I am so thrilled to read about the cleanliness of your room. Our team in Housekeeping takes such pride in their work, I am glad you noticed! I am sorry you missed the opening of BREW Pub and Café--you will just have to come back again so you can enjoy our wonderful breakfast in the Café and Happy Hour in the Pub! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Don't go out and spend tons of money for some B&B south of Broad when you can have a wonderful stay at the King Charles Inn. We spent 3 three nights and are already planning another visit. Staff was so friendly; they bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. Southern charm at it's best. Didn't visit the pub so I can't comment on that. We parked the car (free) and didn't move it until we packed up to leave on Sunday morning. We were right in the middle of everything in the historic district. Turns out our reservations for Saturday evening dining were one block away. We walked everywhere and had a great time. And our room was wonderful. So clean and fresh looking. Please give them a try; you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our southern hospitality! The King Charles Inn's mission is to provide the highest quality of customer care every day, every stay! Thank you for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this hotel based on TA comments and were not disappointed. Great location within walking distance of everything, quiet updated room and friendly staff. A surprise was the happy hour with snacks and $1 off drinks in just-renovated bar. The salon(?) above the reception is also new and very comfortable. Be sure to read the instructions they give you for managing the heat/cooling in your room. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one. There was no view but we choose a quiet sleep over scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for the kind words! We truly appreciate your business! I hope you enjoyed BREW Pub and Café as it just opened last week. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,905 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,615 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $189 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing