We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“front desk needs help”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

recently stayed at this hotel. convenient, near everything, but when awakened by wake up call, message invited me to breakfast . restaurant not open. told to go to bakey a few blocks away. closed. asked again the early morning front desk crew and told about a breakfast spot 4 blocks away. found one 2 blocks away. feel that for the cost and no breakfast, they should have been more knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnewbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

I certainly apologize for the incorrect information supplied to you by the Front Desk Staff. I will share your review with them and will also check our list of bakeries and breakfast restaurants hours and days of operations. Thank you for your honest feedback and I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,842 - 1,848 of 2,834 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

My sister and I spent 5 nights in this hotel from 4/12-4/17. We enjoyed our stay here. We had a deluxe double room on the 2nd floor. The hotel was in a great location. Easy to walk to everything in the historic district. Lots of places to eat nearby and the fashion district with lots of shops was just a block away. We had rented a car and took advantage of the free parking. Note that a lot of people enjoy this feature as the parking lot does get full. The hotel does have an overflow lot right across the street. That seemed to fill up too. Not sure what you would do if that lot had no space for your car. Glad we didn’t have to find out.

The hotel still had not completed their restaurant renovation. They did provide some free pastries in the morning. Bite size muffins and danishes. They also provided free coffee and tea all day. However, their tea selections were quite slim in the evenings and often ran out of cups.

Our room was clean and a good size and the beds were comfy. Lots of storage space. There was a refrigerator and a safe in the room. The bathroom was also a nice size. However, the walls are very thin and we could hear our neighbors quite clearly. That was one downside to this hotel. Not too bad when there was just talking but our last night, there was a family next door that let their child just yell and scream all they wanted. Not good. So if you want quiet, I can’t recommend this hotel. Earplugs helped but still was a bit of a nuisance. That is why I couldn’t rate this hotel as excellent.

We didn’t interact a lot with the hotel staff but when we did they were very helpful and they always welcomed us back when we returned to the hotel. One other issue we had is that they had the wrong check out date on our room key and our key wouldn't work one day. We had to go back to the front desk to get them reprogrammed. Not something we wanted to do after a long day of sightseeing. But they did straighten it out for us. All in all we would stay here again but would hope that we have quieter neighbors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback. I hope you enjoyed Charleston and all it has to offer! Thank you again and have a pleasant day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the King Charles and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of hotel for a best western. Great having the underground parking directly under the hotel included in room rate. Staff were all extremely welcoming and always said hello when passing the front entrance. Didn't make full use of the lovely pool and terrace area but I'm sure had the new bar/restaurant been open when we stayed then we would have. We stayed in a delux queen, quite small and limited hanging space for clothes. Very clean. Large bathroom. Air conditioning was very noisy, even on low setting. Great location for walking the city-in between the market/French quarter area and king street shopping area. Would definitely stay here again if we were lucky enough to come back to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaeDae77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

We just love our UK visitors! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! I hope you enjoyed your Charleston experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We and another couple spent two nights here and found it to be very pleasant. The rooms were spotless. The furnishings are tasteful. The bed was very comfortable. Our standard king room was upgraded to a balcony room, which was perfect for sitting in the rocking chairs and having a glass of wine in the evenings (even if the view was the parking lot). The staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. The location is excellent. We were able to walk everywhere in historic old Charleston. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Charleston.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jayblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It certainly sounds like you enjoyed visiting the Holy City! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn and allowing us to serve you! Have a super day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently spent 4 days in Charleston and stayed at the Best Western King Charles in. This is a good downtown location within walking distance of shopping destinations, dining, and the great old homes of Charleston. The staff helped us with arranging some last minute meals as well as making sure we got the tours we wanted. Everyone worked hard to make the visit a success.

If you want to do a walking holiday in Charleston, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig and Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit to Charleston! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Southern hospitality from all staff. Had a great visit due to the kindness of the front desk. Very nice hotel. Did not get to have breakfast there since they were remodeling. Bought the Charleston experience package and was a good deal for us. Be sure to book your carriage tour early in the day since they fill up fast

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Being located in the heart of the historic district certainly makes for a wonderful trip to Charleston! It is easy to walk everywhere and even catch the free trolley across the street. I am so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for taking time to share your awesome feedback with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff was friendly and it was in a great location for exploring Charleston on foot.
The facilities were well kept and clean but a bit confusing, since there was no easy way to get to the room from the lobby. This may be due to the architectural restrictions in Charleston. Also, the rooms were over decorated to the point that it limited usable space within the room. Maybe due to age, the walls between rooms were not good at isolating neighboring sounds, but this was not a big deal for our stay.
They have free guest parking, so that is a plus in Charleston.

Room Tip: We were unable to book a room with a balcony, but worth checking out in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for completing a review online. I am sorry if the Front Desk did not provide you with a map of the hotel indicating the routes from the Front Desk to the rooms. I appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,616 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $184 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing