We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in Charleston 4 nights and this Best Western is located in the historic area of Charleston. Slightly overpriced for a standard room. We did not need to use our car - walked everywhere. This hotel offers off-street parking - a definite MUST in historic Charleston - no extra cost. The rooms are clean and quiet. Renovations are still going on for a new bar and restaurant and the estimated date of completion is April 3, 2013.
The front staff are very helpful and friendly.
Excellent location!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toadloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return! I hope you can visit with us again as we reveal "BREW Pub and Cafe"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    669
    165
    61
    39
See reviews for
562
1,271
75
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just returned from spending 3 nights at this hotel. It s location is excellent and within walking distance of all major historical attractions. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and professional and there is even free parking. Rooms are small but very clean and tastefully decorated. When I return to Charleston, I this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your understanding. The Upper Lobby and Restaurant renovation should be complete soon and I hope you can come back and see it! It is going to be absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for your five star rating and have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

There is some renovation work going on in the hotel, and the staff will let you know when you checked in. However, it did not bother me a bit. The staff were very friendly, and gave some tips on where to go.

Location-wise, it is excellent. It is a few blocks from Market street and King Street. "Figs", a highly recommended place is just across the street, and "Justine Kitchen", where you could get great southern cuisine at great price is just next block.

Room-wise, I was in room 238, which had a view of the parking lot. However, I did not hear any renovation works going on. The room was a good size. It was clean and comfortable. There are plenty of power sockets.

However, I do wish it has a coin laundry facilities. But overall, it is a good place to stay, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your wonderful experience with others! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the King Charles on our 1st anniversary night before leaving to go on a cruise out of Charleston. The staff were very friendly. We received a free room upgrade to one of their balcony rooms, and a personal note from the manager wishing us a happy anniversary, and 4 Ferrero Chocolates and champagne. Even the late night guy at the front desk was very friendly.The room was clean, and had very nice furnishings. The location was perfect, right next to all of our favorite stores. The staff recommended dinner at Hall's Chophouse which was probably the best food we've ever eaten, and also provided a wonderful backdrop for an anniversary celebration. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you again for celebrating your special occasion at the King Charles Inn! We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you "every year" on your anniversary! Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel has a great location. We walked everywhere easily. It also was very clean and had everything we could possibly need. But the best part is the wonderful staff. We were new to the area and they made us feel right at home. They gave us excellent directions, great restaurant suggestions, and even made the reservations for us. The only problem was the renovation of the restaurant which should be done by April. We had to find our own breakfast in the area, but this is not difficult since there are many places to eat nearby. All things considered we would go back there in a flash.

Room Tip: We found the inside courtyard room to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! My staff takes great pride in helping the guests with tours, dining and directions! Thank you for allowing us to serve you and I hope you can return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not a luxury hotel but it has a lot of advantages: Perfect location... Spacious, very clean and comfortable rooms... Free parking... Very nice, helpful front desk staff... The only problem was they could not serve breakfast because this huge building has no restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! The King Charles Inn is almost complete renovating our Upper Lobby and BREW Pub and Cafe. We will be open every day serving breakfast (similiar to Starbucks) and then in the evening with our Pub. We will have draught beer, liquor and wine. We will continue our Managers Reception nightly offering complimentary cheese, crackers and fruit. We are very excited about our opening and I hope you can return to see our finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location, free parking, walking distance to many attractions including the market and the battery and the ocean. Ask for a room facing the parking lot, you lose the view but gain the quiet. Lots of great restaurants in easy walking distance.The lobby is small and not wheelchair accessible but the staff was incredible and very helpful. This hotel reminds us of boutique style hotels in Europe, it is very quirky and has incredibly long halls. The rooms have very nice appointments including very comfy beds and two club chairs with ottomans. The bathroom is very well appointed with a large vanity. The strange thing is there is no microwave or exhaust fan in the bathroom. I also had trouble getting some of the lights to work and there was no easy way to turn off the lights beside the bed. Expensive for a Best Western but the location and the rooms make up for it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the carpark, not a good view but much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jts1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We just love our Canadian visitors! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! I hope you will return again to see our new restaurant and lounge opening shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,838 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing