We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved our experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in Charleston. The hotel was in a great location and within walking distance to everything we wanted to do while we were in town. Super comfy room and bed. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your honest review! I continually receive positive guest comments on our beds and how comfy they are! A restful nights sleep sure makes for a great day! I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Charleston and hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    681
    170
    61
    40
See reviews for
573
1,297
77
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel has a classy, upscale feel in downtown Charleston, great walking distance to many good restaurants (Hyman's was our favorite) and good shopping. We were there on a cold, rainy weekend in November, so we drove more than walked, but it was convenient to all area attractions and we were always able to find a parking spot under the hotel. In a downtown area, I was expecting to have to pay for parking, but not here! Another great place for breakfast was the Marina Variety Store & Restaurant, great eggs Benedict and so many choices, probably good for lunch and dinner too!

As for the staff, very friendly and helpful, no problems here. The room was a bit on the small side, but for 2 people and three nights it worked well. It was very nicely appointed, comfortable beds, granite counters, nice bathroom, very clean, good ac/heater system and a Keurig machine for coffee and tea. My only disappointment was that the tv reception was not good. Many channels were grainy and the sound only worked on about half of the channels. This was not a big deal, as we weren't there to watch tv, just an annoyance at a place as otherwise as nice as this. All in all I would definitely plan to stay here again on my next visit to Charleston!

Room Tip: Not really sure, we didn't have a view to speak of, not sure if any rooms do, we weren't in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome review of the King Charles Inn. I am so glad you enjoyed our location and especially our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Charleston is a wonderful city to wander and enjoy the beauty of this classic location.The hotel could not have a better location to just park the car and walk to all the attractions. The parking is very limited , the layout of the hotel is a little confusing, and the rooms are nice but nothing special.
The staff was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask that your room does not face a main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondjimSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! The King Charles Inn's super location sure provides a wonderful experience for our guests! I am glad you enjoyed it! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel has just been renovated and would have been a 5 if the restaurant and lounge had been finished.. (Renovations are supposed to be done in March.) It is in a wonderful location, secure off street parking and very helpful desk people. Loved the Manager's meet and greet with cheese, crackers, fruit and olives. The neighborhood is really safe and we had no trouble walking around even at night. The bedrooms are wonderful with very large bathrooms. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda_m1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our third stay at the King Charles and it will not be our last. The location is great, the staff is helpful and friendly and our room was more than adequate. The only negative was noise during the day time due to construction, but that's a temporary issue, and it was very quiet during the night. A big plus is that the cost is much more reasonable than other places where we have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I hope you can return to see the finished product of our Upper Lobby and Pub! I am sure you will be impressed! Thank you again for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unicoi, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here last year and were so impressed with the facility and the amenities, as well as the staff that we didn't even consider another option when we came back at the end of January. It has only gotten nicer! Rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The "happy hour" each night with cheeses and drinks in the lounge is both very inviting and relaxing. The room prices are quite good for Charleston, especially when you consider their excellent location and the fact that they also offer free covered parking. The staff is always incredibly accommodating and it would be hard to go wrong staying here. We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the staircase/lounge. Definitely reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We really appreciate our Repeat Guests! You are more like family to us and it is great to see you return! We hope when you come back next year, you will really enjoy the new Cafe and Pub due to open in March 2013! Thank you for the great rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Charleston many times, but this was the first time I have stayed at this hotel. The bed was great, the entire hotel was nice, with the exception of our room. It was a room attached to another room and every night about 2am the drunk pot smokers came in and acted like the connecting door was a bathroom door and woke us up with yelling and beating against that door. The first night I dealt with it by turning on a white noise generator. The second night, I would have probably done the same except that they were obviously smoking pot and seemed like they were blowing it into our room. The smoke was so heavy and stinky that I called the front desk and told them what was going on. They sent a security officer up and he talked to them to have them stop, then after the security officer walked away, the idiots poured cologne on our door and took our do not disturb sign. The front desk should have moved us to another room, their response was completely wrong. I will never stay there again and neither will anyone I have a chance to talk to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Derikk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I am very disappointed to read this review. If you would please contact me personally at gm@kingcharlesinn.com or 843-723-7451. I apologize for the unpleasant stay and want you to know this is unacceptable. Maureen Sheridan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing