We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morris, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were here for 2 nights. It was a great room and the location couldn't have been better. We pulled in Monday afternoon and didn't move our car until Wednesday afternoon. The hotel is right in the historic district and you can walk everywhere you need to be. The only problem we had was on the 2nd night. They are doing renovations and were putting a compressor unit on the roof. All the work was being done right outside of our window and they were working until almost midnight. We were given a discount on that night, which was nice. But, because of the renovations, there was no breakfast or anything of that sort at the hotel. We didn't have to move the car until 4PM of the day we check out, which was nice because that gave us extra time to see Charleston. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamd826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the five star review! I certainly appreciate your patience with our Restaurant being under construction but I hope you can return in the future to see the finished product! Thank you and have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,749
    727
    181
    68
    40
See reviews for
613
1,402
83
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the King Charles for four nights last September . Great location for walkers: stroll down Meeting St. to view historic homes, walk around the corner to the beautiful shops on King St, or go a few blocks north to the Farmer' Market--it's all easily accessible from this surprisingly upscale Best Western inn. My room was beautifully decorated with a four-poster king bed and nice linens; it was quiet and clean, but had no real "view", just the parking lot. Breakfast is extra and rather uninspiring , but the parking is free if you arrive with a car. The outdoor pool looked clean and refreshing and the evening reception with fruit, cheese, and crackers was a fun way to mingle with nice folks and share travel stories. The staff was excellent, especially the front desk personnel who helped me navigate the city sans car. There is a trolley stop across the street which takes you north and south to many of the main tourist stops. Also across Meeting St. is one of the best restaurants in Charleston: Fig. Superb food and service just a few steps from the inn. Lots of other eateries within easy walking distance--totally safe and easy for the solo woman tourist! One important note: my weekend rate was nearly double the Monday/Tuesday rate, so book mid week for the best value.

Room Tip: Pretty sure most rooms looked over the parking area or the street. I could be wrong, but I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyforth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. I am sure others who read this will feel more comfortable about traveling to Charleston with or without a companion! Its fun to do everything from a Carriage tour, boat tour to Fort Sumter or a Plantation while visiting the Holy City! We even make it easier by working with Charleston Tours who picks up the guests at our front door! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nothing spectacular but it is a good value and great location. Parking is easy and onsite for no additional charge. Check in and out is super easy. Didnt check out any amenities of the hotel so cant commment on those. I would recommend this location for those traveling to charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jso716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed all the added perks of the King Charles Inn! It is very rare to find complimentary off-street parking in downtown Charleston and we just love being able to offer this amenity to our valued guests! I hope you can visit in the future! Thank you for your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay in Charleston. It was our third time visiting this lovely city. This hotel exceeded my expectations by a mile. The front office staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed comfortable, and the furnishings well kept. They even supply a keurig coffee maker. The location of the hotel was the absolute best. Only a few blocks from Hymans Seafood, many other restaurants, the Central Market, and the carriage rides The only slight negative, was the street noise the first evening of our stay. It started with the street sweeper at 4am, then the garbage pick-up at 6am from the restaurant across the street. No problem however, we had our room moved to an interior room the next day. The restaurant is undergoing renovation, so the hotel has made arrangements with a few restaurants in the area. We went to Toast twice, then to Barbara Jeans, both within blocks of the hotel. Barbara Jeans gives a 10% discount to King Charles guests. Both places had wonderful food. Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel, you cannot go wrong!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your valued business! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Best Western because we were served so well a year before, at last year's Charleston Restaurant Week. We get to sample some of the best food available in the US, visit with our son and daughter-in-law, and stay in a well located, clean, and friendly hotel. We'll be back again and would recommend it to any friends coming to Charleston. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Wasn't Charleston Restaurant Week just wonderful? Don't forget we celebrate this twice a year; every January and September! I too had fun taking advantage of all the creative menu's and great value! Hope to see you again! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the King Charles Inn for three nights and had a great visit. The location is so convenient to all of the downtown activities. The room was extremely clean and the entire staff was great. We love the free parking which is rare in most cities. The manager's reception is also a great touch with the cheese, crackers and cookies.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the inside of the hotel (toward the parking garage) are quieter since it keeps down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepettits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are so thrilled to read your review especially noting the cleanliness of the hotel and our customer service! I will certainly share your compliments with my staff! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, SC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our room and bathroom were nicely sized with new finishes and comfortable bedding. We had an in room refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and safe.The view from our room overlooked the center parking area, so it wasn't much to look at. The restaurant was undergoing a renovation, so breakfast was not provided and the evening hors d'oeuvres consisted of cheese cubes and crackers.

The hotel location is perfect for visitors who want to leave for the day on foot. It is convenient to dining, shopping and sight seeing. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our service, the newly renovated rooms, the location and especially the complimentary parking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,145 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,868 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing