We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value and service”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were a group of five, staying in five rooms for a couple of nights in early January. Welcome and service were excellent as was the decor and standard of the rooms. Would definitely choose it again for a stay in Charleston. Early morning stroll through the market, down to the water and along back up King St and coffee at the City Cafe was an excellent way to start the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Value is so important these days! I am glad you found us to be within your budget and of course a great value! I hope you enjoyed your Charleston experience and thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,941 - 1,947 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas, it’s a non-smoking hotel, we had two double beds, free parking and wifi, sadly no free breakfast, though there is free coffee available. Parking can get full, 1 night we had to park the car in the additional parking across the street, they also have additional garage parking if both lots are full. The rooms were nice, bigger than average bathroom, and a make-up mirror over the vanity area, which is always helpful. The hotel has a bar, which has a Happy Hour for 4-7pm, dollar off drinks. The bartender makes a good Lemon Drop, and complimentary cheese and crackers from 4-5pm. Nice central hotel, and helpful front desk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We just love our guests from the UK! Thank you for visiting us and I hope you enjoyed your Charleston and USA holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the King Charles Inn over the New Years holiday. Upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk by Michael. He and all of the other staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful. I want to also give a shout out to Taylor, the bartender in the lounge....such a nice young man...my DH really enjoyed talking to him! Also while sitting in the lounge area, the GM, Maureen came by our table to speak with us as well as other guest. She is outstanding!
The room was just as described on TA. Very comfy bed, very clean and in a great location. We were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go.
Can't wait until we have a chance to visit Charleston again!

Room Tip: You might not want an adjoining room as we could hear the couple in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gakats09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with others! I will certainly commend my staff for providing such wonderful service; Michael, Taylor and others take such great pride is assisting the guests! Happy New Year and thank you again for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on this site and want to confirm that this hotel is awesome. We couldn't believe how close to everything we were. We parked our car and walked everywhere. We booked a Queen room. It was very clean, spacious and very attractive, love the decor. Staff were very friendly and helpful as reported by everyone. We had the best time in Charleston and will definitely be returning to this hotel. Thanks again King Charles Inn for a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank housewench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

They say location is everything! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the King Charles Inn played a part in your Charleston experience! I hope you can visit again in the near future! Thank you and Happy New Year 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the best Best Western I've stayed in. Not so much because of the hotel itself, but because the people running it. My family stayed a couple nights between Christmas and New Years. We arrived at 11am during a rain storm and the front desk staff were able to get us into our room 5 hours before check in. Much appreciated. This is one of the few hotels that you also do not have to pay extra for parking - a key point. This hotel is right in the historic district, one block from the market area. Could not ask for better location. Throughout our stay the personnel were helpful with reservations and recommendations. Rooms themselves were not large, but you probably aren't there to stay cooped up in the room anyway. Rooms have been renovated, they just aren't big. This was our first visit to Charleston and the way we were treated at this hotel guarantee we will be back... and if possible stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for celebrating the Holiday season at the King Charles Inn! On behalf of our entire King Charles Inn staff, we greatly appreciate your kind words! Thank you and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent one night here over the Christmas holidays. Great location and the staff was wonderful--from the beginning of our visit to the end. They were more than just willing to be helpful. They almost seemed to feel they were not doing fulfilling their roles as hosts if we didn't take them up on something--a map? restaurant recommendations? menus? questions regarding the city?

I booked the room through Hotwire--via an iPhone app, which I had not used before--and the booking went through twice, something that has never happened before. The hotel made me aware of a possibility of an error at check-in. The manager was passing through and encouraged me to give Hotwire a call and tell them if they could correct the error on their end, there would be no fuss on King Charles's side.

There is a reception in the afternoon with hors d'oeuvres, etc., which we were encouraged to attend though we could not. There is also a Continental breakfast usually, but as the restaurant was undergoing renovations, we were unable to try it.

The fitness center is next door ($5.00 for a day pass). It looked great. I am sorry I didn't have time to use it.

We were very satisfied with our accommodations. Parking is beneath the hotel and very, very convenient to elevators and the lobby. Parking is also free. After our check-out, we asked about where to park in town as we wanted to visit the market before heading on to Savannah. We were told to just leave our vehicle at the hotel for as long as we wanted.

The hotel is in the middle of everything. We did not need our car for anything during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! I am glad you found my staff very helpful; they aim to please! We appreciate your business and hope you can return again in the future! Happy New Year 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,638 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $170 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing