We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Near it all without the Excesses or Excess Cost.”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are just back from Charleston, we were there for a business meeting, and wanted to take in the sights. Last year we stayed at the site in a historic hotel. Nice but we wanted more. Charleston has lots of choices, and parking is a premium like the big cities. The King Charles is very close to the old market, and really is walking distance from almost everything. The rooms are generous, modern bathrooms with space. They have free parking, and a pool if you want it. It is arranged a little odd, but is functional. We slept well without any street noise. Last night we walked to watch the Christmas Boat parade, down East Bay and ate at High Cotton on the way back.
The staff was very nice, everyone offered to help and Monique and Lauren were very helpful at the desk. You would have to look hard to find a better bargain that was this convenient.

Room Tip: High and interior to be away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for the recognizing our staff members Lauren and Monica! They certainly enjoy pleasing the guests! I am glad you had a great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,881 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Only been gone from Charleston for 2 days and I am already wanting to go back. From the minute we arrived to the King Charles Inn we were treated as if we were royalty. Everyone from the front desk staff to the parking attendant was super nice and really went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. We were celebrating our first anniversary and management went out of their way to make that extra special for us. Even with a hand written card, champagne, and chocolates. We were also upgraded to a king room which was beautiful. The bathroom was very large and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The location is perfect for anything you'd like to do while visiting downtown. We are so happy to find a hotel that we will return to without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the King Charles Inn! We appreciate your five star review and hope to see you on your next Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been to Charleston more times than I can remember and stayed in various locations from Isle of Palms to downtown to Folly Beach. Believe me I've experienced the nice and the not-so-nice of many locations, but I think the location of the King Charles Inn is quite perfect for being downtown. Our room wasn't too small considering we had 4 adults in it, and the bathroom was nice and big. It was always clean and everyone was extremely nice during our stay. Downtown Charleston can be very expensive, but if you're knowledgeable enough to use websites like Hotwire or Priceline you can get some very good deals. We used Hotwire and got this room at a substantial discount.

I highly recommend this hotel...especially if you get a great rate!

Room Tip: Instead of the hotel breakfast venture out to the Dixie Supply and Bakery...about a 10 minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your nice review! Although we appreciate our travel partners on the web, you can always book the best available rate but calling the Front Desk directly! Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. We had a larger room with a view. I appreciate the attention to detail with "clean bags" on the remote and the extra pillows to show that these have been cleaned prior to our use. Keurig was a nice touch and there is always fresh hot tea and coffee in the lobby area. Bathrooms were nicely upgraded. The concierge/front desk staff were very helpful in making dinner reservations and suggestions. The free parking was a major plus and the hotel was close to everything.

Room Tip: The junion suite is still more afforadable than smaller rooms in other inns and the view and extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmarieFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome feedback with others! Charleston is such a great town; I am glad you enjoyed not only your visit but the KIng Charles Inn as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We made last minute reservations in order to get to our cruise ship after Sandy. The staff was really helpful, friendly and gracious in the Southern manner. The breakfast was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and charming . I would suggest this inn to anyone looking for a medium priced hotel. It is within easy walking distance to the market and restaurants. The parking was centered in the middle of the hotel site and so protected and convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We just love our cruise passengers! Staying downtown the night before you depart makes life so much easier than fighting the incoming traffic! I hope you enjoyed your cruise out of Charleston and Thank you for staying with us at the King Charles Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is just a really nice place to stay, very up-scale, from desk help to doorman (yep, they still have one). Even though the city was uncharacteristically cold and rainy, the location was perfect for walking to all of our activities. Since the hotel is located within the designated historic district, all of the gaslight old-south charm is just outside. The weather was uncharacteristically cold and rainy, but we added a glass of wine to the 4:30 complimentary cheese trays in the upstairs lounge and enjoyed having this space in which to meet friends. The front-of-the-house luxury does extend to the rooms, too, with lovely soaps and lotions and oddles of pillows! And to have on-site free parking was a real bonus.

Room Tip: All of the buildings are low in Charleston, so don't expect a view. You'll enjoy the walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beavergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

I am so sorry about the weather but it sounds like you braved the elements and had a great time! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our first trip to Charleston and we are glad we chose the King Charles Inn. Clean, spacious, reasonably priced for downtown. Room was quite large as was the bathroom. Really comfortable bed. Staff was friendly, courteous and very helpful. Breakfast is adequate if you don't want to go out in the morning. Many restaurants within walking distance as is the market. The free parking is a definite plus. Next trip we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Music to my ears...repeat guests! Thank you for your nice review and I hope you can visit us again in the near future! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,645 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $169 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing