We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!!”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location! Staff very friendly and helpful! Rooms were on the small side, but very clean, comfortable and lovely! My husband, 7 year old daughter and I were all quite happy here. Free parking too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others! We sincerely appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    731
    183
    67
    41
See reviews for
620
1,409
83
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I just came back from our third trip to Charleston, as we just love this city!! We have stayed in different places each trip but after this trip, we will not stay anywhere else but the Best Western King Charles Inn!!! This hotel exceeded our expectations. We arrived early - 11am and asked for early check in. Due to the hotel being sold out, they did not have a room ready and told us they would call when one was ready. I figured - yeah, sure, they'll call around 3 - the normal check in. We just sat down to lunch and they called and said our room was ready!!! We finished our lunch and went to check in. We stayed in room 306 - bags were already brought in and waiting for us!! No real "view" from the room -but we didn't come to Charleston to look out our window! We stayed from Sunday thru Friday and hated to go home. Every single staff member greeted us courtesously and with a smile. Our room was always kept clean and fresh. The afternoon happy hour with munchies was very nice. We had breakfast there twice and although you do pay $10.00 a person for the full buffet, it was quite nice, as again so was the breakfast area staff. The location is fantastic -within walking distance of most everything including the grocery store. I felt very safe here which is important to me. My husband and I will not stay anywhere else when we return to Charleston. Thanks again to the staff at the Best Western King Charles Inn who made our stay so fantastic! Can't wait to see you all again! PS beds were really comfortable! ScarletBuffalo_NY

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScarletBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful compliments! It sounds like our service, value, location and cleanliness won you over! We are excited to hear you will be returning in the future! A happy guest is always a repeat guest! Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed three nights recently and just loved it there. The location is within walking distance to attractions and restaurants. Staff are so friendly and helpful.
We loved our room and everything about the place.
We had breakfast one day at the hotel and everything was just the way we like it. I talked to one of the staff there and she told me how the food was prepared. Really nice staff and so accomodating.
We loved Charleston and when we come back will stay at the King Charles Inn.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just came back from a long weekend, and it was a wonderful stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. there is so much within walking distance, it is a great location. They have parking on site which is also nice. We would stay here again. They do have a small pool which we did not use, but it looked nice out there. They have a happy hour at night, breakfast in the morning. Great place to stay while in Charleston!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soles121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful feedback! Since your our NC neighbor, I hope you can visit us again in the near future! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Located on Meeting Street, just around the corner from Jestine's Kitchen, across from Fig, about a block from Hyman's and Whisk Bakery. Meeting Street is parallel to King which is where all the shopping is. This really is a great location!
Our room was ready and clean. We got two double beds. Room is on the small size, but there is a desk and chair (with a Kuerig machine) plus a chair/ foot stool/ small table combo in the corner. There is also a frig, safe, and iHome charging station as well as free wifi. Bathroom is large and upscale with plush towels and a lighted makeup mirror.
We would definitely stay here again.
P.S. breakfast is not free but you can get a tasty, hot breakfast on site. Nice balcony area with pretty plants and fountain. Bar area opens in the evening with cheese and crackers as well as hot chocolate chip cookies available a little later.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tenngal1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We truly appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review! I hope you enjoyed your Charleston experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed two nights here. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Great location, in walking distance to shopping. King street is just a block away with all the top chain shops. Restaurants in walking distance.

Clean, beautiful rooms with old world charm. They have an outdoor pool for the kids. Definitely worth taking a look.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise0955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for the nice review! I just love reading all the guest comments and sharing this news with my staff! Thank you again for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent two nights at the King Charles Inn in August and were very impressed. It is close to everything in Charleston and you can walk almost everywhere in the city centre. The staff at reception were very friendly when we checked in and the hotel has free secure parking which was great! Our room was a double queen room and it was clean and had very comfortable beds. There was a coffee maker and fridge etc. During our time in Charleston, we ate at Sticky Fingers which is literally next door and highly recommended.

After a long day out exploring, it was great to come back and have a drink on the terrace by the pool. The bar tender was very friendly and always had a smile for us. Bar prices pretty reasonable as well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janethejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for recommending the King Charles Inn to others! I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay here in Charleston, South Carolina USA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing