We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding boutique hotel”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Rooms were immaculate and stylish with extremely comfortable bed. Service was first class and friendly. Reasonably priced and convenient breakfast buffet.Rooms were also very reasonably priced, especially for the desirable location.On top of all, FREE PARKING!

Room Tip: don't pay extra for balcony-they face the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcookep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for the outstanding compliments! I have to agree, free parking is the best perk of all! Downtown Charleston is so compact its wonderful to be able to offer this great amenity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,150 - 2,156 of 2,886 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect with a Best Western. (Sorry BW!) But I thought this was nice. The room was clean. The room was nicely appointed. We had a king bed and a balcony. Granted the balcony looked out to the garage, but beats a sharp stick in the eye. The bathroom sink was granite, or something of the like. Parking was free, and fairly decent size. Fridge, not a lot of noise. Great location to most restaurants, tours, shopping. There was even a bar just down the hall from us, although pretty compact. I cannot forget that the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Now a few minuses. Breakfast wasn't free. Even a continental breakfast was, I think around $7.50-$8. The hot buffet was something like $9.75. It was decnt, but I have honestly hade that type of breakfast for free before. (The catch is, even with the cost of breakfast everyday, the price of the King Charles was still cheaper than almost all of the other hotels in Charleston. Not every hotel has free parking.) The only other thing that was an issue for us is that everyday we had to walk past annoying timeshare sales reps trying to sell us something everyday. Late in the day, they were gone. And I suppose if you got going early enough you could avoid them, but it was annoying.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcoldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to exceed your expectations! I hope you can return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our cruise came into Charleston very early, but no problem with the wonderful staff at King Charles Inn. They made us feel right at home - coffee, parking car, gave us directions to various restaurants and tours - all within walking distance. (Try out 'Toast' for breakfast - 2 blocks away) Many thanks to Michael and Rhonda for going above and beyond to welcome us. Room was very nice - looked as though newly renovated in last year or so. The only problem was the t.v. remote was not working and you know how important that is to a man. The maint. man was trying very hard to fix it - switching it out and offering to change out t.v.'s, but my hubby just said don't worry about it. A very small thing, but important to some people like my channel surfing husband.:) Will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Janobrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

We just love our cruisers! Thank you for staying at the King Charles Inn during your cruise out of Charleston! We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

First off this location is great and has free parking which helps considering how busy the area is. As soon as you walk out the front door you are in the middle of Charleston and the atmosphere is great and rather relaxing. Lots of good restaurants are within walking distance as are the touring companies. The staff was very friendly and helpful and seemed to appreciate our visit. The rooms were on the smaller side IMO but were well-kept and clean. We did have a small problem with bugs in the room and my wife complained of bug bites; but the management of the hotel tried to help us out but could not offer us another room due to a sold-out hotel. Beds were not comfortable at all but it could of been the fact that I have major back problems, though I don't have that problem at other hotels. Internet service is decent even though it was down on night one of our three night stay. The breakfast was buffet style and was very good but it does cost around $10 per person and a tip to the servers if you fancy. We ate breakfast out on days two and three which ended up being cheaper. Checkout was smooth and easy and they comped us a night for the pest problem which was much appreciated. Overall the location rocks and if you can get a great price for this hotel it is worth a try but only if you can get a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sizzla36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Thank you for being one of our valued repeat customers! We appreciate you returning again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at the King Charles Inn. We were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a King Deluxe balcony room at no extra charge upon our arrival. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was nicely appointed and comfortable. The balcony overlooked the parking lot, but it was still pleasant to sit in the rocking chairs. The pool is small, but nice. There is a social hour every day with finger foods and discount drinks. The bar area is nice and there is a great outdoor seating area to enjoy the social hour. The location of this hotel is incredible. We walked to everything we wanted to do in Downtown Charleston and only took the car out to drive to the beach. The free parking is a great perk as well. When we come back, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortstuff37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is centrally located close to many restaurants, bars and shopping. Rooms are nice and clean with free wifi, small fridge, iron. Service at reception was very friendly.
There is a small pool area and a lounge/bar. Good buffet breakfast, not included in price of room but very affordable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in may 2012. Our room was on the 4th floor, very private and no noise from neighbors. Staff was friendly. Our only complaint was the shower--at times water pressure was fine, but then would go so low that the water virtually stopped, only to blast you a minute later. Overall we would definitely stay here again. The location can't be beat and we were able to everywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlallen0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

I am glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,652 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,284 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $159 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing