We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Good Thing”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 16, 2007

This hotel offers a great value due to it's central location to market
and historical sites. The staff was very courteous and helpfull with all requests. Parking is a major advantage. Would stay again upon a return to Charleston.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank MarcLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,801 - 2,807 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2007

Great visit! I had a lot of trouble getting there due to flight delays. I had to call the hotel repeatedly and arrange/rearrange my arrival and departure. Everyone on the phone and in person was wonderful! Great service! Will use them in next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kanishiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the King Charles-we had read good reviews on Trip Advisor and then we got a good AARP rate of $139. This included parking on site, which was wonderful in historic Charleston. The staff was very friendly, and the manager was visable to guests and circulated amongst guests during their "happy hour" and during breakfast. Asking how things were, what did you see, do you need help with restaurants, etc. She was a real professional! The rooms were comfortable, clean- we had breakfast there 1 morning-it was a good breakfast with many hot items and a pleasant dining room. The location is great you can walk anywhere in the historic area. We would recommend this hotel for the value and the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed at the King Charles Inn for one night following a 5 night stay in Myrtle Beach. This was our first trip to Charleston. We arrived at the motel at 11:30 am . The staff was wonderful and friendly. They gave us a parking pass that we could park in the motel parking lot until the next day at 4 pm. That was a real plus considering you can pretty much walk anywhere in the historic area. They also gave us directions to some of the attractions that we were wanting to see. The room was very nice and tastefully decorated. Their beds were VERY comfortable. The rooms are not very sound proof. You could hear people walking and talking down the hall or in the next room. There were some very good restaurants nearby. Sticky Fingers is right next door. It is a bar-b-que restaurant, and T-Bones is a couple of blocks over. The food and service were great. I highly recommend staying here. We stayed in Sept. and the rate was only $100 per night. Most of the others were at least $200 or more. It was well worth the money!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LfromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I did quite a bit of research before booking a hotel for a Charleston visit . It was the first time in town and I was visiting with my brother and our spouses. When I saw the rate and location, I was pretty skeptical - a quality hotel in the historic area at a reasonable rate? Probably won't happen, right? Well, we were very happy with the accomodations and, especially, the location. We walked everywhere in Charleston for three days and had free on-location parking. The rooms were very clean, recently remodeled and spacious. The staff was just about the best ever - everyone from Danielle at check-in to the last person we saw on the last day. If we are fortunate enough to get back to this great city, we'll definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the King Charles Inn and we were impressed with the service from the staff. Our friends that came with us had never been to Charleston so we wanted to get there early so we could walk around and show them what makes Charleston such a great place to visit. We had called a few days prior to arriving and spoke to Chris, he said it was no problem getting there early and to just come in and get a parking permit. We arrived around 1:30 but check in time was at 4:00. The young man behind the desk, Michael, was very polite and even checked to see if the rooms were available. He told us it would be no problem checking us in that early. Other places that we have arrived early (and I'm talking only 30 min.) still made us wait in the lobby. The rooms were clean and furnished well and the best part is how close they are to the historic part of Charleston. We parked the car and never took it out until time to leave. We will certainly stay there again, hopefully for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed three nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. It has a great location in the historical district and is thus very close to many tourist sites. Excellent shopping and restaurants in walking distance. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Very nice Managers reception in the early PM...cheese, crackers, fruit. Room was clean and modern. Parking and internet are at no additional charge. Only drawbacks are that the parking lot is always full and it was hard to get a space at times. A complementary breakfast would have been nice also.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank slr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 62 in Charleston
1,676 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $159 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing