We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A daily visit”

The Daily by Butcher & Bee
Ranked #20 of 49 Quick Bites in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Description: The Daily by Butcher & Bee is a market selling cold pressed and squeezed to order juice, Stumptown coffee & espresso, growlers of beer, bottles of wine, breakfast sandwiches and pastries, artisan bread, and grab and go provisions.
Restaurant details
Description: The Daily by Butcher & Bee is a market selling cold pressed and squeezed to order juice, Stumptown coffee & espresso, growlers of beer, bottles of wine, breakfast sandwiches and pastries, artisan bread, and grab and go provisions.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We came here almost every day because the coffee and breakfast was so good. They use the old kind of espresso maker and high quality coffee. And they make their own vanilla bean sweetener. Perfect for my latte. Yum!!!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Picarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2016

A coffee shop with no wifi! What? Do they just expect you to eat and leave???? (lol)

Seriously people, no Wifi. And a limited menu. Normally I would think that having no wifi would make for a quiet refreshing place, but instead you're forced to listen to people interview strangers or talk on their phones.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bbdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at The Daily by Butcher & Bee, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Hi BB,

Thanks so much for your feedback. After careful consideration of the pros and cons of offering wifi, we stand by our decision not to offer it. We intended The Daily to be a marketplace first and foremost, stocking the coffees, wines, produce, juice and provisions we are passionate about and going without wifi has been the best, though not the easiest, business decision for us. We're always happy to have guests linger and socialize, and have added seating to the shop so that guests could do so. We do our best to accommodate those who want to hang out and those who want to grab their morning coffee and get on their way.

We serve a small menu with items we have found to be crowd pleasers, and introduce new items as the seasons and our limited kitchen space allow. If you're looking for more variety, we serve a bigger menu (for breakfast, lunch and dinner) just up the road from The Daily at Butcher & Bee.

All the best,

Michael Shemtov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

this place is a great place to stop in and have a quick bit and coffee. There is no Wi-Fi here so as much as I'd like to make this my morning office I can't. Customer service is also very good.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Jsargis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We had a breakfast taco which was good and scrambled eggs (2) on sour dough toast which was average. Added bacon (2 small over cooked strips) and orange juice =$30. Service is basically nonexistent, order at hostess stand and wait for your name to be called. Might return for the taco but not likely, too many other breakfast options in Charleston.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank AshvilleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

I think this coffee shop has great appeal to those who prefer a different, healthier approach to their coffee. Many vegan options and the juice mixtures available did look good. That being said, I ordered a plain mocha. The coffee aftertaste was burnt and the chocolate flavor was that of raw cacao powder. Not what I was looking for in a mocha. It is a bit confusing to order...find the stand at the door and wait. Someone will come get your order. Don't go stand at the counter as you will get largely ignored there. I did not enjoy the experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank RStoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Daily by Butcher & Bee also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Daily by Butcher & Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing