We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for younger kids”

Children's Museum of the Lowcountry
Ranked #72 of 235 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York, NY
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must for younger kids”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My 2 1/2 year old loved this. I can see that older kids (10 and up) would've bored but for her it was perfect. All interactive, a section with different kinds of blocks (wooden, plastic, large Lego type, so on) a water play section (with smocks so the kids don't get wet), a pirate ship, a grocery store with check out lines where they can actually scan the items). There is a small gated area for 3 and under, which is quieter and calmer than the rest. There is a castle to play in. So many things. If its raining or you need to get out of the sun, definitely check it out. I found it a much better value than the aquarium. Costs less and we spent more time there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsy_0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    45
    28
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This has to be the smallest children's museum ever. Kids walked from one end to the other in under 10 minutes. Very low end exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTashaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fun for younger kids”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I took our 4 1/2 and 2 1/2 yr old grands there yesterday and they thoroughly enjoyed it. We enjoyed watching them for awhile but as the crowd grew, we realized seating for adults is limited and all of the activities are for younger children---say 6 and younger. Publix has done a nice job with the grocery store but with the number of kids in there it was like the hours before a hurricane in a real Publix.

The restroom was very clean and fixtures were size appropriate. Will look forward to returning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cudivermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
435 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very nice visit”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We took our 2 & 4 yo grandchildren & spent about 2 hours in the museum. It had been raining so it was a bit messy around the site. Construction was going on & some areas were not accessible (fire truck). The checkin area is a little cramped, but pretty efficient.

The museum is divided into about 6-7 areas & be sure to allow your kids an adequate amount of time in each area. The pirate ship was fun, & really all areas were entertaining to these youngsters. There were a lot of young children so don't go there with a headache. Staff was available to help, but there were too many kids for the staff to adequately help individuals. The kids had a great time & could have stayed another two hours probably. Trying to keep your eyes on a toddler & a 4 yo can be stressful, but well worth it.

We enjoyed the visit & will return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun for an hour for my 3 & 4 year old.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

While vacationing in Charleston, I took my daughters who are 3 & 4 to this museum. I've been to many other kids museums and this one was okay.

The girls spent about an hour in here. $10/pp. The museum basically has about 7 main areas.

1) The art room was pretty good but the staff was not really helpful. She was just cleaning up and pretty much in her own world. I wish she could've been a little more hands on.

2) Outside Area - totally looked like it needed to be revamped. Nothing but a piece of railroad track, an old fire truck, rocky pathway, dirty looking water fountain, and some herb gardens. No one was out here.

3) Infant to 3 year old section which we didn't go to. Just some slides, playroom, etc.

4) Mini Supermarket which was fun

5) Pirate Ship - fun

6) Water Room - fun

7) Architecture Room - fun drafting materials, large Legos, and blocks.

Overall, it was okay. I'd say one thing the museum can work on is their customer service and interaction with customers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank shaq4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of the Lowcountry also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Children's Museum of the Lowcountry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing