We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attraction for kids!”

Children's Museum of the Lowcountry
Ranked #72 of 232 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sarasota, Fl.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great attraction for kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited in August and it was HOT outside, so we we're looking for things to do with our small children (2 and 4) that were inside. Our quest led us here! We had a fantastic time running around the attraction. The kids loved the castle play area, the water play area (you can race boats, and get wet!), and the market where the kids could shop, and check out by themselves. Very cool! We were in and out in about a hour... so the place is small and doesn't take long to get through. It would be fantastic if they could have staff in each room/area to explain things to the kids - but I can appreciate this would be costly for the attraction. They also had a outside area with a fire truck that we couldnt do as it was too hot. But - I see they are currently trying to raise $6500 to pay for sails to give some shade to this area. I think this is a fabulous idea and will help a great deal with folks being able to spend more time at this attraction. All in all - a great way to spend a hour or two with your kids!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AXO1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    28
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT place to take the kids for the afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place was amazing! We spent 2 1/2 hours there and left because they were closing, but we could have spent a lot longer there. My 6 year old, my 4 year old, and even my 18-month old loved it. There's a craft room, a castle room where kids can dress up and put on puppet shows and hide in the castle's secret places. There is a ball room, were kids roll balls in different tracks; science and fun come together. In the water room, you can sail boats and cars on a river, make a dam and then a flood, move the rain cloud and make it rain, then make the sun come out, and learn about evaporation and rain. There is a pretend grocery store complete with kids' carts and check out stands with computers. There is a pirate ship room, and a toddlers' play area.
Entrance is $7, but across the street in the visitor's center, you can find a coupon for BOGO free in one of the little pamphlets. HAVE FUN!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ALWAYS FUN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place is always changing and great fun for very little children on up! We visited with friends who have a 5 year old and a 7 year old. My son who is 7 had great fun showing his friends all the Children's Museum had to offer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful time with my 16 month old daughter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We wanted to do something fun for our 16 month old daughter on our trip, and the Children's Museum really came through. There was tons of stuff to do for kids anywhere from kids who are just crawling to kids who want to sword fight on a pirate ship. We all had a great time. I'd highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot of fun for younger kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed ourselves. It is on the smaller side but the price is more than reasonable for the size. My kids spent nearly an hour in the castle room alone.

Helpful?
Thank Marine_wife0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of the Lowcountry also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Children's Museum of the Lowcountry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing