We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The B&B is very quiet and convenient, a short 10 minute walk to most of the attractions in Charleston. The B&B is located in an area of stately homes and is in a prime location, in fact a new television show was being filmed one block over during our stay. Across the street from the B&B is the battery and we enjoyed nice strolls along the water. The accomodations are comfortable and very quiet. The first floor has a couch, chair, TV and kitchenette; the second floor has the bedroom and bathroom (which was spacious). We enjoyed it when we came back from our day of touring to find that Julie had the gas fireplace going for us. Julie makes the most delicious breakfasts and afternoon treats, its a good thing we parked the car at the B&B for most of our stay and did a lot of walking to wear off all the calories. If there is one con, it would be that the stairs are somewhat steep and narrow going up to the second floor as you have to remember that this is a very old home and the "Quarters" are the old slave quarters. If you hang onto the rail to steady your steps, you'll be just fine. We would stay at 21 East B&B without any hesitation and highly recommend it. Its quite the value!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yooper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

This B&B has unique accommodations, the first floor has a Kitchenette and sitting area with a tv and very comfortably fits two couples. The second floor has two large rooms with private baths. So my wife and I and ours friends spent two very comfortable nights here. The location is perfect right across from Charleston harbor and only a short walk to the center of town. It is also attached to an interesting museum that you can visit for no charge, it's included with your stay. Every morning we awoke to a breakfast already prepared for us, by Julie the innkeeper, to enjoy in the privacy of our little apartment. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gene2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Carriage House at 21 East Battery for our 20th wedding anniversary and we seriously didn't want to leave! The house is absolutely beautiful! The inn keeper, Julie, was so welcoming and pampered us with delicious treats each day! The location of the house is close enough to walk to all of the amazing Charleston restaurants and attractions but far enough away to be private and quiet. We loved everything about this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in the carriage house for our honeymoon. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!! The carriage house is beautiful and convenient to everything. Julie was so sweet and even provided us with a congratulatory honeymoon cake. We couldn't be happier with the experience, and we will definitely be back next time we visit Charleston. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenandAlex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can not think of a better place to stay to experience this beautiful and historic city. The four of us stayed for three wonderful days in The Quarters and totally enjoyed the experience. The rooms are lovely and immaculate and the location of 21 East Battery could not be better. We parked the car and never used it the whole time we were there. We walked everywhere. It was a peaceful, quiet respite from the busy city outside it's grounds. However, as wonderful as all this is, what makes it work is Julie, the innkeeper, who truly has found her calling. She is the perfect hostess, quietly pampering and taking care of her guests needs. She even went out of her way to accommodate a special need we had regarding check in and tours we had booked. Also, as others have mentioned, the treats were spectacular and so fun to come home to. We have stayed at other top tier hotels in the historic district, but this is where we will return to in the future.....don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kap929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just loved our stay at 21 East Battery--the Carriage House was so lovely and comfortable. We really felt at home thanks to Julie and her excellent and personal customer service. She and my husband conspired even before we arrived to make the most of Charleston's Restaurant Week and Julie had printed menus and directions waiting for us when we checked in. Although, her cooking was worth staying in for--the banana bread and quiche she made and left for us were delicious! The accommodations were immaculate, and Julie came in (undetected) to tidy up every time we went out. We really felt like welcomed guests in her home!

We loved the location, also. Once we parked the car we didn't get back in it for the rest of our stay. We were able to walk to every attraction that struck our fancy.

We hope to return every year and we'd enthusiastically recommend the Carriage House--and Julie!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staying at 21 East Battery B&B made our first visit to Charleston very enjoyable. It was good to be within walking distance of the many sights to see and places to visit in Charleston. Our accommodations in the Quarters were comfortable and interesting because of the history of the property. Julie, the innkeeper, was so helpful making the reservation and in many ways during our stay. We had a great experience!

Room Tip: The Quarters are quiet with parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank King91170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,905 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,444 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $398 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing