We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Return trip just as fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 41 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return trip just as fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our second trip to 21 East Battery and it was not disappointing. The location was great right on the battery with a short walk wherever you want to go in downtown Charleston. You can park your car just outside for free which was great. Julie is very personal and is a wonderful cook with great dishes ready each morning at your convenience as well as sweet treats throughout the days we were there. The only thing I would improve is a bigger table in the downstairs room. We stayed with a couple and would have liked a larger table as we were indoors a lot due to rain and played some board games. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGAme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
146
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

21 East Battery is the place I always love to visit, but hate to leave. Perfect in its location, impeccable accommodations, and superior service and assistance provided by Julie.
I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

For couples or families, this place is the best--quiet, clean, spacious, nicely appointed, and within easy walking distance of the sights, sounds and tastes of Charleston. We parked our car in the dedicated guest parking, and didn't move it until we left 3 days later. Julie is an attentive host with answers to questions as well as suggestions. She even catered to our vegan requirements! This was our third year at 21 East Battery, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katmatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here with another couple and had the best time. These were wonderful accommodations located such that we were able to walk to all of the best restaurants, historic sites and shopping Charleston had to offer. The hostess Julie was excellent and the breakfasts and baked goods she prepared were delicious. The only thing that would make the living area more enjoyable would be a larger breakfast table. We spent our evenings playing games after our forays into this historic wonder and the small table was a little cramped. We will definitely be coming back to Charleston and returning to Miss Julie's care where she made us feel like true Charlestonians!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaconChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife & I spent a holiday weekend at 21 East Battery. We had a wonderful stay. The facility itself is centrally located & beautifully furnished, a lovely combination of old-fashioned furniture and up-to-date conveniences. The food was delicious and the staff (Julie who is also a terrific baker & cook) attentive and helpful. We've been talking it up to our friends since we returned home. We'll certainly be back -- soon we hope.

Room Tip: There was only one bedroom in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halpn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at 21 East Battery for 4 nights in February for our anniversary and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The apartment in the former slaves' quarters was very homey and quiet. We loved the mix of historic charm and modern conveniences, including the two fireplaces and spacious bathroom and bedroom. Juile the innkeeper was very friendly, welcoming and informative, and we especially loved all the baked goods and breakfasts she left for us in the kitchen. The location is perfect - walking distance from just about anywhere you would want to go in downtown Charleston and about 10 seconds from the water. We would definitely recommend 21 East Battery to anyone looking for a romantic getaway in Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Arkansas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were given the trip for our 40th wedding anniversary and chose to stay at 21 East Battery. It was more than we had anticipated and would recomment it to anyone. The location was great---not too far from many of the attractions we wanted to see. We were greeted with the warmth of being in our own home---fire place aglow, food in the fridge and maps marked to direct us to our interest. Julie was wonderful and provided insight into the area. We would enjoy a return visit with more time to see the area. History came alive at 21 East Battery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Property: 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery b&b
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing