We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time in the Heart of Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful time in the Heart of Charleston”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here with another couple and had the best time. These were wonderful accommodations located such that we were able to walk to all of the best restaurants, historic sites and shopping Charleston had to offer. The hostess Julie was excellent and the breakfasts and baked goods she prepared were delicious. The only thing that would make the living area more enjoyable would be a larger breakfast table. We spent our evenings playing games after our forays into this historic wonder and the small table was a little cramped. We will definitely be coming back to Charleston and returning to Miss Julie's care where she made us feel like true Charlestonians!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaconChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
161
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife & I spent a holiday weekend at 21 East Battery. We had a wonderful stay. The facility itself is centrally located & beautifully furnished, a lovely combination of old-fashioned furniture and up-to-date conveniences. The food was delicious and the staff (Julie who is also a terrific baker & cook) attentive and helpful. We've been talking it up to our friends since we returned home. We'll certainly be back -- soon we hope.

Room Tip: There was only one bedroom in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halpn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at 21 East Battery for 4 nights in February for our anniversary and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The apartment in the former slaves' quarters was very homey and quiet. We loved the mix of historic charm and modern conveniences, including the two fireplaces and spacious bathroom and bedroom. Juile the innkeeper was very friendly, welcoming and informative, and we especially loved all the baked goods and breakfasts she left for us in the kitchen. The location is perfect - walking distance from just about anywhere you would want to go in downtown Charleston and about 10 seconds from the water. We would definitely recommend 21 East Battery to anyone looking for a romantic getaway in Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholeB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Arkansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were given the trip for our 40th wedding anniversary and chose to stay at 21 East Battery. It was more than we had anticipated and would recomment it to anyone. The location was great---not too far from many of the attractions we wanted to see. We were greeted with the warmth of being in our own home---fire place aglow, food in the fridge and maps marked to direct us to our interest. Julie was wonderful and provided insight into the area. We would enjoy a return visit with more time to see the area. History came alive at 21 East Battery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, Ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at 21 E Battery for two nights in January. The apartment was spacious, beautiful and quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed two nights of restful sleep. The location was almost ideal, about three blocks south of Broad, a ten second walk to Charleston Harbor, in a neighborhood of beautiful old mansions. The main house (we were actually staying in the old kitchen and slave quarters) is a well preserved mansion that offers tours. We went for free courtesy of Julie, our innkeeper, and enjoyed the tour greatly.

The only imperfect aspect was the plumbing. There was no hot water, only tepid to cold, and we had a fast and frigid bath at night. It was cold outside, so we had hoped for a warm bath. The toilet flushed with a prolonged sigh, only if you held the handle down for the duration, and very little oomph, which was a little disconcerting, but functional. A small price to pay for a beautiful location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianboru7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! The location of 21 East Battery is certainly one of our biggest draws! We are also sorry you experienced some hot water delays. Modern conveniences in a historic location require some thinking outside of the box. The water heater for the building needs a bit of time to travel through the pipes, especially on the frigid nights Charleston has been experiencing. Considering the alternative the original decedents had to endure at 21 East Battery, I’m certainly thankful for indoor plumbing! We hope you choose to visit again during your next visit to Charleston. All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this for his birthday weekend in Charleston. The best part about this B&B is the location, the actual room, the innkeeper, and the amenities. What is great about the location is we were able to walk to our dinner reservation and then we walked around looking at all the historic homes. Julie, the innkeeper made amazing food and we even took home recipes. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missymoose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I and two of our friends stayed in the Quarters on January 22nd and 23rd. We were greeted by a fire in the downstairs fireplace and a spotlessly clean living room. Upstairs were two large bedrooms, each with its own bathroom. The B&B is located a short walk to Broad Street where we picked up the free trolley bus to the center of the historic district. Julie, the innkeeper, was delightful and helpful in every way possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Quarters! The space is perfectly suited for traveling couples! We hope to welcome you back to 21 East Battery again soon! Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Property: 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery b&b
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing