We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay at a beautiful and historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, Ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay at a beautiful and historic building”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at 21 E Battery for two nights in January. The apartment was spacious, beautiful and quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed two nights of restful sleep. The location was almost ideal, about three blocks south of Broad, a ten second walk to Charleston Harbor, in a neighborhood of beautiful old mansions. The main house (we were actually staying in the old kitchen and slave quarters) is a well preserved mansion that offers tours. We went for free courtesy of Julie, our innkeeper, and enjoyed the tour greatly.

The only imperfect aspect was the plumbing. There was no hot water, only tepid to cold, and we had a fast and frigid bath at night. It was cold outside, so we had hoped for a warm bath. The toilet flushed with a prolonged sigh, only if you held the handle down for the duration, and very little oomph, which was a little disconcerting, but functional. A small price to pay for a beautiful location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianboru7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! The location of 21 East Battery is certainly one of our biggest draws! We are also sorry you experienced some hot water delays. Modern conveniences in a historic location require some thinking outside of the box. The water heater for the building needs a bit of time to travel through the pipes, especially on the frigid nights Charleston has been experiencing. Considering the alternative the original decedents had to endure at 21 East Battery, I’m certainly thankful for indoor plumbing! We hope you choose to visit again during your next visit to Charleston. All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
166
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this for his birthday weekend in Charleston. The best part about this B&B is the location, the actual room, the innkeeper, and the amenities. What is great about the location is we were able to walk to our dinner reservation and then we walked around looking at all the historic homes. Julie, the innkeeper made amazing food and we even took home recipes. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missymoose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I and two of our friends stayed in the Quarters on January 22nd and 23rd. We were greeted by a fire in the downstairs fireplace and a spotlessly clean living room. Upstairs were two large bedrooms, each with its own bathroom. The B&B is located a short walk to Broad Street where we picked up the free trolley bus to the center of the historic district. Julie, the innkeeper, was delightful and helpful in every way possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Quarters! The space is perfectly suited for traveling couples! We hope to welcome you back to 21 East Battery again soon! Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I brought my girlfriend here for a surprise weekend, and it was a perfect place for her to become my fiance! We stayed in the carriage house, which was beautiful and really felt like a home. The decor is truly amazing and the location is unbeatable, right on the Battery. We loved the homemade treats left by the innkeeper and had a magical weekend. I would recommend this b&b to anyone and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The carriage house is definitely worth it if you can snag it. Tons of space and a beautiful buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoolan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at 21 East Battery B and B for our honeymoon and it was so romantic! The quarters we stayed in were full of character and clean, and there was a fireplace in each room! The Inn Keeper was very friendly and made sure to have complimentary breakfast and goodies in the kitchenette area every day. We loved staying here and recommend it to all couples that want a romantic getaway in Charleston!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We took my brother and sister in laws on their first visit to Charleston and stayed here. Everything was perfect starting with the check in and orientation with Julie. Her homemade treats and knowledge of the area sites are second to none. The location couldn't be better on the historic battery within walking distance to everything. I highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Kudos to the people at 21 East Battery for a wonderful stay! I couldn't imagine a more fantastic location - the heart of the Battery in the most amazing city. With the fresh-baked treats, a baby grand piano, wireless Internet, delicious quiches each morning, elegant decor and more space than I could ever need - this very well could be the best value in all of Charleston. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Property: 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery b&b
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing